Kansas Rowing To Face K-State and Texas

May 1, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing heads back to Austin, Texas for the second time this spring to face Kansas State and Texas in the Big 12 Invitational. The regatta is set to begin at 9 a.m., along Lady Bird Lake. The Invitational features six races, ending with the First Varsity Eight race. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Kansas has faced both Kansas State and Texas this season with varying degrees of success. On March 29, Kansas opened its spring campaign in Austin, Texas against the Longhorns. Texas swept the Jayhawks, but the margin of victory was small enough to give the less experienced Jayhawks confidence to avenge the defeat.

The Jayhawks faced K-State on April 12, in Kansas City, Kan. Kansas State won the Kansas Cup by a 13-8 margin, but KU took both novice races. Kansas rowed against K-State the following week at the Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta in Oak Ridge, Tenn. At SIRA’s, K-State’s varsity teams saw their margin of victory nearly cut in half by the KU rowers.

Last year, Kansas placed second at the Big 12 Invitational with 46 points, falling by only nine points to Texas who finished with 55 points. Kansas won the First Varsity Four race, and its First Varsity Eight boat fell to Texas by only 3.9 seconds.

Please check back with kuathletics.com for more information leading up to the Big 12 Invitational and for results following the regatta.

Big 12 Invitational Schedule and KU Boating Assignments
Novice Four: 9 a.m.
Karlie Brown (Coxswain)
Kristen Allison
Caitlin Roach
Kelsey Simpson
Jessica Sadler

Second Novice Eight: 9:15 a.m.
Erika Raschke (Coxswain)
Monica Reynolds
Cissy Orzulak
Rachelle Pauly
Julia Guard
Nicole Schneider
Brittany Francis
Melissa Hersh
Megan Foster

First Novice Eight: 9:30 a.m.
Elise Langtry (Coxswain)
Jenny Robb
Cassie Sparks
Meaghan Oven
Denise Orloff
Kate Wiens
Allison Able
Lauren Pollmiller
Inga Schuchard

First Varsity Four: 9:45 a.m.
Sarah Best (Coxswain)
Kahheetah Barnoskie
Valerie Jackson
Amber Bortz
Abby Green

Second Varsity Eight: 10 a.m.
Lexie Peterson (Coxswain)
Stacy Rachow
Hailee Jones
Kristin Deckert
Becca Labat
Kaitlin Squier
Brittany Belford
Brianna Flickinger
Kelly Miller

First Varsity Eight: 10:15 a.m.
Katie Brosious (Coxswain)
Lindsey Lawrence
Carrie Selden
Kara Boston
Alia Bober
Melanie Luthi
Katie Beall
Emily Martin
Megan Heacock