Jayhawk Football, Men's Basketball and Debate Teams Honored at State Capital

May 2, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>TOPEKA, Kan. – Government officials at the state capital in Topeka honored the University of Kansas football, men’s basketball and debate teams Friday for their outstanding achievements during the 2007-08 academic year.

Representatives from all three teams first met with Governor Kathleen Sebelius. The proclamation and resolutions honored the 2007 FedEx Orange Bowl championship football team, the 2008 national championship basketball team and the debate team, which finished ranked first nationally.

Following the governor’s proclamation, the group, which included KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Director of Athletics Lew Perkins, entered the Senate floor for a resolution. DouglasCounty representative Marci Francisco introduced the resolution. After the Senate, the group proceeded to the House of Representatives’ floor for another resolution presented by rep Barbara Ballard. Both resolutions were passed unanimously.

Chancellor Hemenway presented autographed footballs and basketballs to Senate President Stephen Morris and Speaker of the House Melvin Neufeld.

Both the football and men’s basketball representatives signed numerous autographs and posed for photos during and between ceremonies and visited with the representatives. Between sessions, the teams met and visited in Neufeld’s office.

The KU football team was represented by Dexton Fields, Marcus Herford, Kerry Meier, Todd Reesing and assistant coach Clint Bowen. The men’s basketball team was represented by seniors Jeremy Case, Sasha Kaun, Darnell Jackson, Russell Robinson, Rodrick Stewart and administrative assistant/video coordinator Brett Ballard.

Debate head coach Dr. Scott Harris brought representatives from the debate team which finished the year ranked No. 1 in the nation based on the National Debate Tournament varsity rankings for total points earned in competition.