Kansas Rowing Holds Spring Banquet

May 6, 2006

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan.-<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The University of Kansas rowing team held its 11th Annual Spring Banquet on Friday, May 5. In addition to honoring the seven seniors, the coaches handed out 11 awards.

Senior Jennifer Ebel took top honors at the banquet. She was awarded 2005 Oarswoman of the Year, Senior Oarswomen, Captain Recognition and the Senior Academic Achievement Award. Fellow senior Ardis Johnson earned the Nikia Rosenberger Outstanding Coxswain Award, Senior Oarswomen and the Senior Academic Achievement Award.

Junior Lindsey Miles and sophomore Annie Sims were awarded the “Class of 2000” Academic Award. While junior Hailee Jones took home the Most Improved Newcomer Award and freshman Katie Brosious was named Outstanding Newcomer.

The “Coaches” award went to senior Kris Lazar who also earned the Senior Oarswoman Award and the Senior Academic Achievement Award.

Senior Paige Phillips was recognized by the senior class with the “Essence of a Jayhawk” award as the person who best represents Kansas rowing.

The Jayhawks will conclude their spring season when they travel to Oak Ridge, Tenn., May 13-14, for the South-Central Regionals.

-Awards Breakdown-

Senior Oarswomen: Alexis Boston, Jennifer Ebel, Taylor Eldridge, Ardis Johnson, Kris Lazar, Paige Phillips, Gillian Van Ruyven

Captain Recognition: Jennifer Ebel, Jelayna DaSilva

Senior Academic Achievement Award: Jennifer Ebel, Taylor Eldridge, Kris Lazar

“Class of 2000” Academic Award: Lindsey Miles, Annie Sims

Most Improved Newcomer: Hailee Jones

Most Improved Oarswoman: Tiffany Jeffers

Outstanding Newcomer: Katie Brosious

Manager Award: Carrie Callen

Nikia Rosenberger Outstanding Coxswain Award: Ardis Johnson

“Coaches” Award: Kris Lazar

Oarswoman of the year: Jennifer Ebel

“Essence of a Jayhawk”: Paige Phillips