Kansas Rowing Holds Spring Banquet

May 7, 2005

The University of Kansas rowing team helds its 10th Annual Spring Banquet on May 6, at the Adams Alumi Center. In addition to honoring the seven seniors, the coaches handed out 10 awards.

Top honors went to senior Erin Hennessey who won 2004 Oarswoman of the Year. Hennessey also earned the Senior Oarswoman Award, Captain Award, and Senior Academic Achievement Award. Fellow senior Crystal Reed took home the Nikia Rosenberger Outstanding Caxswain Award, Senior Academic Achievement Award, and Senior Oarswoman Award.

Junior Whitney Fasbender and Sophomore Lindsey Miles took home the “Class of 2000” Team Academic Award. Freshman Dyana Lawrence earned the Most Improved Novice Award and Freshman Kara Boston took home the Oustanding Newcomer Award.

The senior class recognized senior Ashlea Kramer as the person who best represents Kansas rowing with the “Essence of a Jayhawk” Senior Award.

The Jayhawks will conclude their spring season on May 14-15 at the South-Central Regionals in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

-Award Breakdown-

Oarswoman of the Year- Erin Hennessey

Senior Academic Achievement Award- Kristy Hainer, Rachel Chapman, Erin Hennessey, Crystal Reed, Ashlea Kramer, LeAnna Kemp

“Class of 2000” Team Academic Award- Whitney Fasbender, Lindsey Miles

Most Improved Novice- Dyana Lawrence

Most Improved Oarswoman- Kris Lazar

Outstanding Newcomer- Kara Boston

Nikia Rosenberger Coxswain Award- Crystal Reed

“Essence of a Jayhawk” Senior Award- Ashlea Kramer

Captain Award- Kristy Hainer, Erin Hennessey

Senior Oarswoman Award- Rachel Chapman, Kristy Hainer, Erin Hennessey, LeAnna Kemp, Ahlea Kramer, Crystal Reed