Kansas Rowing Hands Out Awards at Team Banquet

May 7, 2011

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing honored 13 seniors and handed out multiple individual awards at its end-of-the-year team banquet Friday night at Maceli’s restaurant in Lawrence.

During the presentation, KU honored its graduating seniors Allison Able, Kristen Allison, Karlie Brown, Melissa Hersh, Elise Langtry, Meaghan Oven, Rachelle Pauly, Lauren Pollmiller, Caitlin Roach, Kellie Roy, Jessica Sadler, Nicole Schneider and Cassie Sparks. Brown, Pauly, Pollmiller, Schneider and Sparks also received the senior academic award. Additionally, Schneider took home the “Class of 2000” Team Academic Award.

“We have a really good senior class,” said head coach Rob Catloth following the Senior Day regatta against Kansas State. “Several of them have been in top boats since their sophomore year. There are some really strong athletes there, and also student-wise, we’ve had several on academic all-conference teams. It’s been a really fun class to work with.”

Senior Meaghan Oven was awarded the Oarswoman of the Year Award, while senior Elise Langtry won the Nikia Rosenberger Outstanding Coxswain Award for the second-straight year. Junior Angela Mings was named the Most Improved Oarswoman of the Year.

Kansas rowing also handed out two awards to newcomers. Freshman Katie Hayes earned the Outstanding Newcomer Award, while freshman Allie McLane was the team’s Most Improved Newcomer.

The Jayhawks will compete in the Conference USA Championship Saturday, May 14, in Oak Ridge, Tenn.