31 Jayhawks on Academic All-Big 12 Track Team

May 10, 2005


The Big 12 Conference named the 2005 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s and Women’s track and field teams on Tuesday. The Jayhawks were represented well with 31 first team honorees and three-second team members.

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

KU had four female student-athletes that were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average. Seniors Kim Clark and Megan Manthe, as well as sophomores Megan Foster and Abby Emsick scored perfect grade point averages.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations office, first team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation also are eligible.

The Jayhawks will travel to Manhattan, Kan., and the R.V. Christian Outdoor Track Facility for the 2005 Big 12 Outdoor Championships this weekend.

Academic All-Big 12 First Team

Eric Babb So. Secondary Education

Brandon Cherry Sr. Business Administration

Dan Ferguson Sr. Secondary Education

Mark Gdowski So. Microbiology

D.J. Hilding Sr. Sports Management

Chris Jones Sr. Finance

Tyler Kelly So. Film Studies

Joshy Madathil Sr. Business/Computer Engineering

Blake Perkins So. Architecture

Cody Roberts So. Exercise Science

Cameron Schwehr Jr. Business Administration

Eric Sloan Jr. Secondary Education

Aaron Thompson Jr. Sports Science

Lauren Brownrigg Sr. Sports Management

Kim Clark Sr. Biochemistry

Abby Emsick Jr. Pre-Nursing

Megan Foster Sr. Pharmacy

Octavia Garrett So. Psychology

Janiece Gatson So. Journalism

Brooklyn Hann Sr. Exercise Science

Libby Harmon So. Political Science

Paige Higgins Sr. Printmaking

Christine Lathrop Jr. Education

Laura Major So. Business

Megan Manthe Sr. Biochemistry

Denita Miller Sr. Human Development

Joanie Nelson So. Design

Sondra Rauterkus Sr. Health and P.E.

Dena Seibel Jr. Business/Finance

Erin Wessley Sr. Ecology

Jennifer Widerstrom Sr. Sports Management

2nd Team

Scott Kaserman So. Art Studies

Tyson Willoughby Sr. English

Jessie Violand So. Architecture