26 Jayhawks Named Academic All-Big 12

May 10, 2006


The Big 12 Conference has named 232 student-athletes to the 2006 Academic All-Big 12 Track and Field teams, including 26 members of the Kansas squad. Among those honored, there were two Jayhawks — Mark Gdowski and Dena Seibel — with perfect a perfect 4.0 GPA.

In addition to Seibel, the women’s team had nine other members named to the first team, including Connie Abbott, Tiffany Cherry, Abby Emsick, Janiece Gatson, Christine Lathrop, Laura Major, Lindsay McCracken, Melissa Moody and Denita Young. Ashley Brown represented KU on the second team.

The men’s first team was represented by Eric Babb, Jonathan Edwards, Gdowski, Brandon Hodges, Chris Jones, Joshy Madathil, Cody Roberts, Cameron Schwehr, Erik Sloan, Aaron Thompson and Colby Wissel. Matt French, Paul Hefferon, Tim Kane and Adrian Ludwig were named to the second team.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the men’s academic all-league track and field squad consisted of 82 first team members combined with 26 on the second team, while the women had 107 first team recipients and 17 student-athletes on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships return to Baylor’s Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex on Friday-Sunday. The Bears previously hosted the postseason event in 1997 and `99.