Kemp, Madathil Highlight Senior Scholar Banquet

May 11, 2006

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. — The University of Kansas Athletic Department recognized its top senior athletes for their accomplishments on the field and in the classroom at the annual Jayhawk Senior & Scholar Athlete Banquet Thursday night.

Crystal Kemp and Joshy Madathil received the Robert Frederick Senior-Scholar Athlete of the Year awards. Madathil, a Liberal, Kan., native and a computer engineering and business major, is a distance runner who has competed for the Jayhawks in track & field and cross country since 2002. He was named to the 2006 Academic All-Big 12 First Team in cross country and finished 24th overall at the Big 12 Championships. He helped the cross country team to its highest team finish at the NCAA Championships since 1989. Madathil was also a member of the 2006 KU record-breaking indoor distance medley relay team. Due to his achievements in the classroom, Madathil is a seven-time member of the Academic All-Big 12 Team.

Kemp, a Topeka, Kan., native and a speech language and hearing major, was named to the All-Big 12 First Team after becoming one of only six players in Kansas history to record over 1,600 career points and 800 rebounds. Kemp was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team and was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VII team. Kemp is a four-year letterwinner in basketball and was twice named the Big 12 Player of the Week during the 2005-06 season. She also delivered the invocation at the ceremony.

Nine student-athletes received a Senior Athlete of the Year award, given to those athletes who have achieved excellence at the conference, regional or national level. Those who received the award this year included Charisse Bacchus (Cascade, Trinidad, track & field), Sheldon Battle (Jamestown, N.Y., track & field), Gina Gnatzig (Whitewater, Wis., swimming & diving), Crystal Kemp (Topeka, Kan., women’s basketball), Josi Lima (Sao Paulo, Brazil, volleyball), Ritchie Price (San Luis Obispo, Calif., baseball), Nick Reid (Derby, Kan., football), Serena Settlemeier (Kelso, Wash., softball) and Caroline Smith (Edina, Minn., soccer).

For their academic achievements this year, 254 student-athletes were named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll, including 95 Academic All-Big 12 selections and 10 Academic All-Americans. Those Academic All-Americans included Pete Krsnich (men’s golf), Luke Trammell (men’s golf), Kevin Ward (men’s golf), Chelsey Pryor (women’s golf), Caroline Smith (soccer), Jackie Krueger (swimming & diving), Terri Schramka (swimming & diving), Jenny Short (swimming & diving), Lindsey Urbatchka (swimming & diving) and Paula Caten (volleyball). In addition, 48 student-athletes were recognized who earned perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Egor Agafonov (men’s track & field), Charisse Bacchus (women’s track & field), Sheldon Battle (men’s track & field), Brooklyn Hann (women’s track & field), Amy Linnen (track & field), Jeremy Mims (men’s track & field), Nick Reid (football) and Kate Sultanova (women’s track & field) were honored for being named first team athletic All-Americans.

In addition to honoring KU’s student-athletes, Dr. Bob Frederick (Health, Sport & Exercise Science) was the recipient of the Del Shankel Teaching Excellence Award at Thursday night’s banquet. Sharon Bass and Rich Morrell received the Student Support Service Awards.

Also honored was legendary KU broadcaster Max Falkenstien, who was presented with a Lifetime Service Award for his 60 years of service to the University.

Formerly known as the Jayhawk Scholar Recognition Banquet in its initial 10 years, the event was expanded in 2003-04 to include both academic and athletic success.