Jayhawks Well Represented On Track and Field Academic All-Big 12 Teams

May 11, 2010


A total of 36 Kansas student-athletes have been named to the 2010 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s & Women’s Track & Field Teams, the league office announced Tuesday. Overall, 344 athletes were honored, with the Jayhawks ranking second behind Nebraska who had a total 72 athletes on the lists.

Among those honored, two (Eric Fattig and Jareb Stallbaumer) were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average.

Fattig, a senior aerospace engineering major from Kearney, Neb., earned first team honors for the fourth-consecutive year, making it a clean sweep for his career. In addition, it marked the third time in his career he collected his honor with a perfect 4.0 gpa.

Stallbaumer, a junior pre-pharmacy major from Wetmore, Kan., earned his second-straight First Team honor, while doing so with a 4.0 gpa in both years.

Twelve Jayhawk women were on the first team, led by seniors Lauren Bonds and Kelsey Erb who each earned a spot on the team for the third time in their careers. Seniors Elizabeth Beisner, Claire Hall and Mary Lacy and juniors Abby Jones and Amanda Miller were on the first team for the second time in their careers, while senior Amanda Radovich, sophomores Julia Cummings and Rebeka Stowe and freshmen Lindsay Schaefer and Elise Umbarger all took home the honor for the first time.

On the men’s side, 15 KU student-athletes earned a spot on the First Team. Senior Levi Huseman is a three-time honoree, while senior Chandler Frigon and junior Cooper Merrill were each honored for the second time in their careers. Jayhawks earning a First Team nod for the first time in their careers include senior Nate Scherzer, juniors Jordan Scott and Dan Van Orsdel, sophomores Ebo Browne, Nick Canton, Kaleb Humphreys, Clint Robinson, Kaman Schneider and Darryl Trotter and freshmen Austin Bussing, Sean Proehl and Zach Zarda. Scott and Scherzer each took home Second Team honors previously in their respective careers.

Four Kansas women and three Jayhawk men were second-team selections. For the women, juniors Kendra Bradley and Kara Windisch and seniors Kate Colvin and Lacey Cunningham are all first-time members. For the men, freshman Josh Baden, junior Nick Caprario and senior Ryan Hays each earned the honor for the first time.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the men’s track & field academic all-league squad consisted of 124 first team members combined with 36 on the second team, while the women had 155 first team recipients and 29 student-athletes on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Jayhawks are traveling to Columbia, Mo., for the 2010 Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships, taking place May 14-16 at the Terry Audrey J. Walton Stadium on the campus of the University of Missouri.