KU Shut Out Of Big 12 Tourney

May 12, 2005

Box Score | Photo Gallery


Sixth-seeded University of Kansas fell to No. 3 seed Texas, 1-0 in eight innings, and to No. 2 seed Oklahoma, 5-0, Thursday at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium. With the losses, the Jayhawks were eliminated from the 2005 Big 12 Softball Tournament and will await an NCAA Regional invitation when bids are announced Sunday.

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The Jayhawks (30-22) and No. 6/8 Longhorns (39-11) faced off in a pitching duel in their first game of the tournament.

Both teams remained scoreless through seven innings. Texas scored its winning run in the bottom of the eighth on a sacrifice fly by Megan Willis. Tina Boutelle walked to lead off the inning, advanced on an infield single and sacrifice bunt, and scored on the tag-up from third.

Jackie Vasquez made a solid throw from center field but Boutelle was able to brush home plate just past the reach of catcher Elle Pottorf.

Ross (12-8) allowed five hits, struck out four and walked three in 7.2 innings against the Longhorns. UT starter Meagan Denny (9-2) struck out eight, walked three and gave up three hits in 8.0 innings of work.

KU got hits from Vasquez, Nicole Washburn and Ashley Frazer in the first game. The Jayhawks stranded nine while UT left eight on base in the victory.

The Jayhawks had a shaky beginning to its elimination contest against the No. 10 Sooners. OU (46-13) scored four runs in the bottom of the first on three hits and two errors.

The Sooners added a run in the third on two hits when Christina Enea scored from third on a passed ball. Enea reached on a base hit and moved to third despite a double play by the Jayhawk defense.

The Jayhawks managed three hits off Kami Keiter (28-5), who walked four and struck out two in the complete-game shutout.

Ross made her second start of the day, giving up four hits and walking one in two innings to take the loss. Serena Settlemier allowed three hits, struck out three and walked one in the final four innings.

Frazer, Washburn and Settlemier (double) notched the Jayhawks’ hits against Keiter.

The 64-team NCAA Tournament field will be announced at 6:30 p.m. Sunday on ESPNews. The last time KU made a postseason regional appearance was 1999.