Tennis Hands Out Postseason Awards

May 12, 2005

Lawrence, Kan. – The University of Kansas tennis team held its annual postseason awards banquet on Wednesday, May 12, at Paisano’s.

Players earned awards voted on by their teammates and coaches. Junior Christine Skoda earned her first Catherine Holland MVP award. The Edmonton, Alberta, native notched an 8-13 record this spring and a 7-4 mark in Big 12 matches.

Freshman Stephanie Smith was awarded Most Improved Player for her contributions to the everyday singles lineup. Sophomore Brittany Brown earned the Hardest Worker Award, while junior Luiza Loureiro was given the Jayhawk Sportsmanship and Spirit Award for being the person who best represents Kansas tennis.

“Christine (Skoda) was very deserving of the MVP award for her play this spring,” head coach Amy Hall said. “It was nice that we didn’t have to say good-bye to any seniors this year and I am excited about our team next season.”

The team will announce the Jayhawk Academic Achievement award after finals due to the closeness of this year’s race.