Jayhawks Head to Tennessee for South-Central Regionals

May 15, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas will return to Melton Hill Lake for the South-Central Regional Regatta in Oak-Ridge, Tenn., May 17-18. The two-day regatta is the qualifier for the NCAA Championships held two weeks later in Sacramento, Calif. KU will be competing in five events, beginning with the Open Four preliminary heats on Saturday morning at 9:20 a.m. The South-Central Regional Finals will be begin on Sunday morning at 9:00 a.m.

Kansas will face many of the nation’s top teams at the regatta including Iowa, Texas, Minnesota, Virginia, Ohio State, Notre Dame, Tennessee and Kansas State. KU will enter one boat in each event. Kansas seniors Alia Bober, Kara Boston, Hailee Jones and Elisheva Patterson are competing in what could be their last regatta.

Last year, Kansas placed 16th of 23 teams with 152 points, three places in front of in-state rival Kansas State and only six points behind fellow Big 12 opponent Texas. The Novice Eight boat finished in 8th place, Kansas’ best finish.

Saturday morning’s race schedule and boatings are listed below. Kansas’ Saturday afternoon and Sunday schedule will not be known until after the preliminary heats. The semifinals will take place Saturday afternoon with the finals occurring Sunday morning. Please check back with kuathletics.com for complete results following each day’s action.


Saturday Boatings and Preliminary Schedule
Open Four – 9:20 a.m.
Erika Raschke (Coxswain)
Erika Fisher
Julia Guard
Brittany Francis<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Kelly Miller (Bow)

Novice Eight – 9:30 a.m.

Elise Langtry (Coxswain)

Jenny Robb

Cassie Sparks

Meaghan Oven

Denise Orloff

Kate Wiens

Allison Able

Nicole Schneider
Inga Schuchard

Varsity Four – 10 a.m.
Sarah Best (Coxswain)

Kahhettah Barnoskie

Valerie Jackson

Amber Bortz

Abby Green

Second Varsity Eight – 10:40 a.m.

Lexie Peterson (Coxswain)

Stacy Rachow

Hailee Jones

Kristin Deckert

Becca Labat

Kaitlin Squier

Elisheva Patterson

Brianna Flickinger

Brittany Belford

First Varsity Eight – 11:20 a.m.
Katie Brosious (Coxswain)

Lindsey Lawrence

Carrie Selden

Kara Boston

Alia Bober

Melanie Luthi

Katie Beall

Emily Martin

Megan Heacock