Kansas Baseball Hands Out End of the Year Awards

May 18, 2008


Seniors John Allman and Ryne Price as well as junior Paul Smyth highlighted the list of players honored at the annual Kansas Baseball Awards Ceremony Sunday in the Naismith Room of Allen Fieldhouse. Allman and Ryne Price shared the Gib Francis Most Valuable Player Award, while Smyth captured a pair of pitching awards.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Allman, a senior from <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>St. Louis, Mo., took home at least a share of the team MVP honors for the second straight season after batting .365 with six homers and 48 RBIs during the 2008 season. Price, a senior from Lawrence, Kan., captured co-MVP honors along with the Jeff Neimeier Big Stick Award after leading the club with 11 homers and a career high 60 RBIs.

Smyth, a junior from Atascadero, Calif., picked up the Jimmy Walker Fireman Award for the most outstanding relief pitcher, and the Jayhawk Trophy Pitcher of the Year award. The junior righty collected five wins out of the bullpen and saved 10 games during the 2008 season and posted a 3.73 ERA.

Senior Erik Morrison garnered the Mike Hill Hustle Award, while sophomore Robby Price took home the John Trombold Golden Glove Award. Freshman Tony Thompson was named the Bob Allison Rookie of the Year and sophomore transfer Shaeffer Hall collected the Walt Houk Newcomer of the Year.

Other award winners included Justin Ellrich with the Forrest Hoglund Student-Athlete Award for the third straight year; Nick Faunce with the Tom Hedrick Most Improved Award; and seniors Matt Berner, Matt Lane and Eric Snowden each collecting the Ron McDonald Coaches Award.

The Jayhawks finished their season earlier in the day at 30-27 overall and 9-18 in the Big 12 conference.

Complete List of Award Winners:

Forrest Hoglund Student-Athlete Award – Justin Ellrich

Tom Hedrick Most Improved Award – Nick Faunce

Bob Allison Rookie of the Year – Tony Thompson

Walt Houk Newcomer of the Year – Shaeffer Hall

Jimmy Walker Fireman Award – Paul Smyth

Jayhawk Trophy Pitcher of the Year – Paul Smyth

Mike Hill Hustle Award – Erik Morrison

John Trombold Golden Glove Award – Robby Price

Jeff Neimeier Big Stick Award – Ryne Price

Ron McDonald Coach’s Awards – Matt Berner, Matt Lane, Eric Snowden

Gary Padgett Team Captain Awards – John Allman, Erik Morrison, Ryne Price

Gib Francis Team MVP – John Allman, Ryne Price