Jayhawks Announce End of Season Awards

May 21, 2007


The Kansas baseball team held its’ postseason awards reception and senior celebration Sunday night in the Naismith Room at Allen Fieldhouse.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Senior Kyle Murphy led the way, receiving the Mike Hill, Sr. Hustle Award as well as co-John Trombold Golden Glove honors for his efforts during the 2007 season. There were 11 other Jayhawks honored Sunday, including junior left fielder John Allman, who was named Gib Francis MVP Award.

Allman, who won the batting title by one point over Murphy, finished the season with a .333 batting average, four home runs and tied for the team-lead with 44 RBIs.

Other award winners included: Justin Ellrich collecting the Forrest Hoglund Student-Athlete Award, Buck Afenir earning the Tom Hedrick Most Improved Award and Robby Price capturing the Bob Allison Rookie of the Year Award. Junior pitcher Andres Esquibel took home the Walt Houk Newcomer of the Year Award and sophomore Paul Smyth captured the Jimmy Walker Fireman Award. Sophomore lefty Andy Marks collected the Jayhawk Trophy Pitcher of the Year, Erik Morrison shared the Golden Glove Award with Murphy, while Ryne Price picked up the Jeff Niemeier Big Stick Award.

Seniors Dylan Parzyk and Ryotaro Hayakawa were both given the Ron MacDonald Coaches Award, while Allman, Morrison and Ryne Price earned the Gary Padgett Team Captain Award.

Kansas Baseball Awards:

Gib Francis MVP Award: John Allman

Forrest Hoglund Student-Athlete Award: Justin Ellrich

Tom Hedrick Most Improved Award: Buck Afenir

Bob Allison Rookie of the Year: Robby Price

Walt Houk Newcomer of the Year: Andres Esquibel

Jimmy Walker Fireman Award: Paul Smyth

Jayhawk Trophy Pitcher of the Year: Andy Marks

Mike Hill, Sr. Hustle Award: Kyle Murphy

John Trombold Golden Glove Award: Erik Morrison and Kyle Murphy

Jeff Neimeier Big Stick Award: Ryne Price

Ron MacDonald Coaches Award: Ryotaro Hayakawa and Dylan Parzyk
Gary Padgett Team Captain Award: John Allman, Erik Morrison and Ryne Price