Nine Jayhawks Selected to Academic All-Big 12 Team

May 24, 2005


The University of Kansas placed a league-leading nine players on the 2005 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball team, six on the first team and three on the second.

The Jayhawks that were named to the first team includes junior Matt Baty (Sports Management), senior Mike Bessolo (Business Administration), senior Mike Dudley (Teacher Education/History), senior Andy Scholl (History), junior A.J. Van Slyke (Business Administration) and senior Mike Zagurski (Communication Studies).

The three KU second-team members are senior Jake Kauzlarich (Business Administration), senior Clint Schambach (Physical Therapy) and Scott Sharpe (Business Administration).

To qualify student-athletes must record a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters. All players nominated must have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests, while pitchers are required to have at least one inning pitched per game played by the team or have appeared in 35 percent of their team’s total games. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Jayhawks will take on No. 2 Baylor in the Big 12 tournament’s opening round at 1 p.m. on Wednesday.