Six Kansas Baseball Players Earn All-Big 12 Accolades

May 25, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. — Six University of Kansas baseball players earned All-Big 12 honors as voted on by the league’s head coaches. Second baseman Jared Schweitzer and relief pitcher Don Czyz were named All-Big 12 First Team, shortstop Ritchie Price, outfielders John Allman and Gus Milner earned second team honors while senior pitcher Kodiak Quick was named honorable mention.

Czyz leads the nation with 17 saves including nine in Big 12 games. The Overland Park, Kan., native carries a 5-0 record and a team-best 1.59 ERA. The senior was named honorable mention in 2005.

Schweitzer was named the league’s top second baseman after moving over from his normal first base position when sophomore Ryne Price missed time due to an injury. The Sherwood Park, Alberta, native leads the Jayhawks with a .356 average while starting 35 games at second and 22 at first. The senior earned second team honors in 2005.

Senior Ritchie Price was named All-Big 12 Second Team after hitting .319 with 17 runs scored in conference games. The San Luis Obispo, Calif., native has started every KU game this season and has a fielding percentage of .975 from his shortstop position.

Allman finished Big 12 play with a .398 batting average, the second best of any player during conference games. The sophomore is currently hitting .340 for Kansas while scoring 46 times and driving in 47 runners. The St. Louis, Mo., native has started 59 games this year.

Milner leads the Jayhawks in hits (81), runs (47), RBI (54), doubles (18) and total bases (130). The Olathe, Kan., native has tallied seven home runs while recording five triples. Milner has started 61 games this season.

Quick set a new Kansas school record with his 11th victory of the season on Wednesday, May 25 against Oklahoma at the Big 12 Championship in Oklahoma City, Okla. The Belton, Mo., native has a 3.16 ERA with 64 strikeouts in 105.1 innings of work. Quick tallied a record of 6-3 against Big 12 teams this season.

Oklahoma State’s Tyler Mach was voted Big 12 Conference Co-Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year for the 10th annual All-Big 12 Conference baseball team. The Cowboys’ junior third baseman tied with Texas outfielder Drew Stubbs for conference Player of the Year. Texas Techs’ Roger Kieschnick (OF) and Miles Morgan were named Freshman Player and Freshman Pitcher of the Year, respectively.

2006 All-Big 12 Conference Baseball Team (Ties reflected in voting)

First Team
1B- (tie) Brandon Buckman, Nebraska; Chance Wheeless, Texas
2B- Jared Schweitzer, Kansas
3B- Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
SS- Ryan Wehrle, Nebraska
C- Zach Dillon, Baylor
OF- Luke Gorsett, Nebraska; Drew Stubbs, Texas; Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech
DH- (tie) Jacob Priday, Missouri; Hunter Harris, Texas
UTIL- Jordy Mercer (SS-P), Oklahoma State
SP- Nathan Culp, Missouri; Tony Watson, Nebraska; Kyle McCulloch, Texas
RP- Don Czyz, Kansas; Brett Jensen, Nebraska

Player of the Year- (co) Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State; Drew Stubbs, Texas
Pitcher of the Year- Kyle McCulloch, Texas
Newcomer of the Year- Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
Freshman Player of the Year- OF Roger Kieschnick, Texas Tech
Freshman Pitcher of the Year- Miles Morgan, Texas Tech

Second Team
1B- Kevin Smith, Oklahoma
2B- Russell Raley, Oklahoma; Shelby Ford, Oklahoma State
3B- Jared Goedert, Kansas State; Ryan Rohlinger, Oklahoma
SS- Beamer Weems, Baylor; Ritchie Price, Kansas
C- Matt Smith, Texas Tech
OF- John Allman, Kansas; Gus Milner, Kansas; Chuckie Caulfield, Oklahoma; Corey Brown, Oklahoma State; Keanon Simon, Oklahoma State; Carson Kainer, Texas
DH- Deik Scram, Oklahoma State
UTIL- Andrew Brown, Nebraska; Aaron Reza, Oklahoma
SP- Johnny Dorn, Nebraska; Daniel McCutchen, Oklahoma; Steven Guerra, Oklahoma; Brae Wright, Oklahoma State
RP- Austin Wood, Texas; Hart Hering, Texas A&M

Honorable Mention: Baylor – OF Seth Fortenberry; SP Ryan LaMotta; Kansas – SP Kodiak Quick; Kansas S tate – OF Joe Roundy; OF Barrett Rice; Missouri – OF Evan Frey; OF Zane Taylor; SP Max Scherzer; RP Travis Wendte; Nebraska – 2B Jake Opitz; C Jeff Christy; OF Nick Jaros; DH Andy Gerch; Oklahoma – C Jackson Williams; Oklahoma State – SP Matt Gardner; Texas A&M – SS Jose Salazar; Texas Tech – 2B Willie Rueda; SP Miles Morgan.