Clark, Nielson Receive Postgraduate Scholarship

June 1, 2005


Senior Kim Clark of the Kansas track and field team and fellow senior John Nielson from the KU football team have received the prestigious Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship, the Big 12 Conference announced Wednesday.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March. The list of recipients has grown to 129 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Each school nominated one student-athlete prior to 2002-03 when additional funding allowed each school to nominate two scholars.

This is the second postgraduate scholarship received by Clark. The Elkhorn, Neb., native was given $7,500 towards postgraduate studies for her outstanding work on the track and in the classroom by the NCAA. Clark was also named to the Academic All-Big 12 track team and is a strong candidate to be named Academic All-American again this year.

Nielsen was a member of the Jayhawk football team for two seasons and was named Academic All-Big 12 both years as well as being selected to the Dean’s List two times.

To date the Big 12 has provided $658,200 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999 and climbed to $6,900 after the 2003-04 term.

Criteria for the awards include a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution and completion of athletics’ eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection group for the awards.

Former KU Dr. Prentice Gautt Big 12 Postgraduate Scholarship Recepients

2004Zach Dyer, Football
Elizabeth Olson, Rowing

2003Case Collard, Football
Gwen Haley, Swimming

1998Lisa Beran, Track
Maria Abatjoglou, Tennis
Josh Dimmick, Baseball
Xavier Avila, Tennis

1997Jerod Haase, Basketball
Angie Halbleib, Basketball