Aqib Talib Named to Nagurski Watch List

June 8, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. — University of Kansas cornerback Aqib Talib has been named to the 2006 Bronko Nagurski Award watch list the Football Writer’s Association (FWAA) announced Thursday. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the best defensive player in college football, has been a staple of the FWAA’s awards since 1993. It is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995.

The 2006 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 4, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize. Louisville defensive end Elvis Dumervil won the 2005 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Talib earned first-team Freshman All-America honors from last season and also was an All-Big 12 honorable-mention selection by the Associated Press and the Big 12 coaches. Talib led the Jayhawks with eight pass breakups and finished the season with 54 total tackles (45 solo). The Richardson, Texas native also collected a pair of interceptions and recovered a fumble.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Nagurski winner from the association’s 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be added to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the course of the 2005 season.

For the sixth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week, beginning with games the week of Sept. 2 and running through the middle of November. Each national player of the week will be added to the trophy’s watch list throughout the season.

Fifty-five standout players from around the country have been nominated for consideration. Talib is one of just two sophomores on the list.