Former Jayhawks on NBA Title Roster for Third Straight Year

June 20, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – With the Boston Celtics claiming the 2008 NBA title, former Kansas men’s basketball players Paul Pierce and Scot Pollard gives KU three straight years with a former Jayhawk winning an NBA title. In addition to Pierce and Pollard, KU legend Jo Jo White is the Director of Special Projects for the champion Celtics.

Pollard and Pierce join former Jayhawks Jacque Vaughn of the 2007 champions San Antonio and Wayne Simien of the 2006 champions Miami Heat to have won an NBA title in each of the last three seasons. Additionally, the duo become the eighth and ninth Jayhawks to be on the NBA champions’ roster at season’s end dating back to former KU legend Clyde Lovellette with the Minneapolis Lakers in 1954.

Pierce became the third Jayhawk to be named the MVP of the NBA Finals joining Chamberlain with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1972 and White with the Celtics in 1976.

Kansas Players who have won NBA titles

Clyde Lovellette (1950-52 at KU), Minneapolis Lakers – 1954; Boston Celtics – 1963, 1964

Maurice King (1955-57 at KU), Boston Celtics – 1960

Wilt Chamberlain (1957-58 at KU), Philadelphia 76ers – 1967; L.A. Lakers – 1972

Jo Jo White (1966-69 at KU), Boston Celtics – 1974, 1976

Bill Bridges (1959-61 at KU), Golden State Warriors – 1975

Wayne Simien (2002-05 at KU), Miami Heat – 2006

Jacque Vaughn (1994-97 at KU), San Antonio Spurs – 2007

Paul Pierce (1996-98 at KU), Boston Celtics – 2008

Scot Pollard (1994-97 at KU), Boston Celtics – 2008

Kansas NBA Finals Most Valuable Players

Wilt Chamberlain – 1972

Jo Jo White – 1976

Paul Pierce – 2008