Tucker Named to Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

June 27, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. — University of Kansas junior punter Kyle Tucker has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2006 Ray Guy Award the Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Tuesday. The award is given to the top Division 1-A punter in collegiate football. The watch list is comprised of the top non-graduating finalists from the previous year, in addition to 2004 Ray Guy Award winner Daniel Sepulveda.

Tucker, a native of Katy, Texas, recorded an average of 42.9 yards per attempt last season, landing 19 kicks inside the 20-yard line. He launched a season-long boot of 77 yards against Texas Tech on Oct. 1 — the ninth longest punt in KU history.

The winner is determined by a national selection committee made up of sports writers, college football coaches and sports information directors, former punters and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. Among the statistics used to identify the Ray Guy Award winner are total yardage punted, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, net average, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. It is also of importance for the award winner to display team leadership, self-discipline, and to have a positive impact on the team’s success.

The Ray Guy Award watch-list will be expanded after the start of the season when statistical figures can be added. The national voting body will then vote for the top three finalists who will be announced at the end of November. In December, the top three finalists will be in Orlando, Fla., for the Home Depot College Football awards show. The winner will be announced live on ESPN.

Name, School, Class
Kyle Tucker, Kansas, Junior
Dave Brytus, Purdue, Junior
Gordon Ely-Kelso, Georgia, Junior
Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor, Senior
Nic Schmitt, VA Tech, Senior
Eric Wilbur, Florida, Senior