KU Golf Signee Named To All-Nicklaus List

June 28, 2011

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas golf signee Paul Harris was named as one of 24 honorees for the 2011 All-Nicklaus Team, which is selected by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Players from Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA were recognized this season.

Harris, who signed with Kansas in April, was a sophomore at Central Alabama Community College, a member of the NJCAA.

Harris finished the year as the number-one ranked junior college player in the country. Harris was also named an NJCAA Division I PING All-America Second Team selection, as well as an all-district IV selection.

At the national championship this year, Harris would have won the tournament going away, but was disqualified after not signing his scorecard after the second round. Harris opened the event with a 68 and closed with rounds of 67 and 69 in the four-round championship. He was the only player in the field with more than one round in the 60s.

Harris will be able to participate with the Jayhawks this fall and will have two seasons in Lawrence.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men’s golfer in Division I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

2011 All-Nicklaus Team

(Selected by the Golf Coaches Association of America)

Cyril Bouniol, Abilene Christian

Patrick Cantlay, UCLA

Bud Cauley, Alabama

Pierre Carlsson, Cumberlands

Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian

Edward Delashmutt, Mesa CC

Brandt Garon, Meridian CC

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Paul Harris, Central Alabama (KANSAS SIGNEE)

John Jackson, Cal State Monterey Bay

Ryan Kiel, Texas Lutheran

Jimmy Kozikowski, South Mountain

Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna

Justin Lower, Malone

Chris Morris, Centre College

John Peterson, LSU

Patrick Reed, Augusta State

Kyle Souza, Chico State

Oscar Stark, Oklahoma Christian

Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

Bank Vongvanij, Florida

James White, Georgia Tech

Andrew Yun, Stanford