Three Jayhawks Named to 2010-11 NABC Honors Court

July 12, 2011


Three members of the 2010-11 Kansas men’s basketball team were selected to the NABC Honors Court Monday. Senior Tyrel Reed, senior Conner Teahan and junior Jordan Juenemann were recognized as three of the collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2010-11 season.

Reed, a native of Burlington, Kan., graduated from KU last December with a degree in exercise science and pre-physical therapy and a 3.65 GPA. He was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection and this past year was named to the first teams of both the Capital One Academic All-American and the Lowe’s Senior Class Awards. Reed was the only Jayhawk to start all 38 games during the past season, averaging 9.7 points per game and leading the team in steals at 1.5 per game. In March, he was accepted to the Physical Therapy Program at KU Medical Center.

Teahan, who hails from Leawood, Kan., redshirted last season for the Jayhawks and is working on a degree in finance and accounting. He has been twice named to both the Athletic Director’s and the Big 12 Commissioner’s honor rolls. Before taking a redshirt 2010-11, Teahan saw action in 19 contests his junior year, averaging 3.8 minutes per game.

Juenemann is a walk-on for the Jayhawks and has one year remaining has he prepares to complete his degree in exercise science. He is a three-time member of both the Athletic Director’s and Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Rolls. Throughout his three years at Kansas, the Hays, Kan., native has played in 29 games for the Jayhawks and has a career field goal percentage of 50 percent.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.

2. Cumulative G.P.A. of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2010-11 academic year.

3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.

4. Member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Institution.