Kansas to Host Wisconsin in the 2011 Big 12/Big Ten Women's Basketball Challenge

July 14, 2011


4905418.jpeg?1310673586Kansas women’s basketball will host Wisconsin this season as part of the 2011 Big 12/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge. The inter-conference series began in 2010 and features a home-and-home format over a two-year agreement. Texas Tech will represent the Big 12 in two games while Big Ten member Nebraska will sit out in 2011 due to the uneven number of teams among the two leagues.

“We are looking forward to the second year of our challenge with the Big Ten,” said Dru Hancock, Big 12 senior associate commissioner. “Last year’s games provided exciting early-season matchups for both conferences and their fans.”

The 2011 Challenge will be played Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 3 and 4, with the exception of three games – Wisconsin at Kansas (Dec. 8), Michigan State at Texas (Dec. 10) and a neutral site game between Texas Tech and Illinois at the United Center in Chicago (Dec. 17).

The Big 12 will have six home games while the Big Ten has five home contests in 2011. This year’s series will be referred to as the Big 12/Big Ten Challenge.

“The Big 12/Big Ten Challenge serves as a great showcase for both conferences’ women’s basketball programs,” Big Ten associate commissioner Andrea Williams said. “Year two provides the opportunity for re-matches, and we are looking forward to competitive and exciting games.”

Matchups for 2011 can be found below. Dates, times and television information will be released in the coming months.

2011 Big 12/Big Ten Challenge
Baylor at Minnesota
Iowa State at Michigan
Wisconsin at Kansas
Iowa at Kansas State
Northwestern at Missouri
Ohio State at Oklahoma
Penn State at Texas Tech
Texas A&M at Purdue
Oklahoma State at Indiana
Michigan State at Texas
Texas Tech vs. Illinois (Chicago)

**Texas Tech will play two games in the 2011 Challenge.