Herford, Mortensen Named To Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team

July 17, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas kickoff return specialist Marcus Herford and Jayhawk linebacker Joe Mortensen were named to the 2008 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team selected by the league’s media it was announced on Thursday.

Herford, a senior from DeSoto, Texas, was the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year in 2007. He was second in the league and 15th in the NCAA with a 28.65 kickoff return average last season. He returned two kicks for scores on the year.

Herford, who also plays wide receiver, enters the season on several Big 12 career kickoff return charts, including second in touchdowns (two), third in return average (27.4), fifth in yards (1,645) and seventh in returns (60).

Mortensen, a senior from Concord, Calif., was an All-Big 12 First Team selection a year ago after ranking ninth in the league in tackles per game (8.15) and tying for second in tackles for loss per game (1.15).

Heading into 2008 Mortensen has been listed on two preseason watch lists, including the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Lombardi Award.

2008 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team (Media Vote)

Offensive Player of the Year: Chase Daniel, Missouri (QB, 6-0, 225, Sr/3L, Southlake, Texas)

Defensive Player of the Year: Auston English, Oklahoma (DE, 6-3, 257, Jr/1L, Canadian, Texas)

Newcomer of the Year: Darrell Scott, Colorado (TB, 6-2, 215, Fr/HS, Ventura, Calif.)


Pos Name School Ht Wt Cl/Exp Hometown

WR Michael Crabtree! Texas Tech 6-3 206 So/1L Dallas, Texas

TE Chase Coffman Missouri 6-6 245 Sr/3L Peculiar, Mo.

OL Duke Robinson Oklahoma 6-5 330 Sr/3L Atlanta, Ga.

OL Phil Loadholt Oklahoma 6-8 350 Sr/1L Fountain, Colo.

C Jon Cooper Oklahoma 6-2 285 Sr/3L Fort Collins, Colo.

OL Louis Vasquez Texas Tech 6-6 335 Sr/3L Corsicana, Texas

OL Colin Brown Missouri 6-8 325 Sr/3L Braymer, Mo.

OL Cedric Dockery Texas 6-4 315 Sr/3L Garland, Texas

WR Jeremy Maclin Missouri 6-1 200 So/1L Kirkwood, Mo.

QB Chase Daniel Missouri 6-0 225 Sr/3L Southlake, Texas

RB Marlon Lucky Nebraska 6-0 215 Sr/3L North Hollywood, Calif.

RB DeMarco Murray Oklahoma 6-0 191 So/1L Las Vegas, Nev.

PK Jeff Wolfert Missouri 6-2 185 Sr/2L Overland Park, Kan.

KR Marcus Herford Kansas 6-3 208 Sr/3L DeSoto, Texas


DL Auston English Oklahoma 6-3 257 Jr/1L Canadian, Texas

DL Ian Campbell Kansas State 6-5 249 Sr/3L Cimarron, Kan.

DL George Hypolite Colorado 6-1 285 Sr/3L Los Angeles, Calif.

DL Brian Orakpo Texas 6-4 260 Sr/3L Houston, Texas

LB Sean Weatherspoon Missouri 6-1 235 Jr/2L Jasper, Texas

LB Joe Mortensen Kansas 6-1 250 Sr/3L Concord, Calif.

LB Joe Pawelek Baylor 6-3 236 Jr/2L San Antonio, Texas

DB Nic Harris Oklahoma 6-3 226 Sr/3L Alexandria, La.

DB William Moore Missouri 6-1 230 Sr/3L Hayti, Mo.

DB Jamar Wall Texas Tech 5-10 196 Jr/2L Plainview, Texas

DB Jordan Lake Baylor 6-2 206 Jr/2L Houston, Texas

P Justin Brantly Texas A&M 6-3 241 Sr/3L Sealy, Texas

PR Jeremy Maclin Missouri 6-1 200 So/1L Kirkwood, Mo.

! Denotes unanimous choice.

An extra offensive lineman was honored due to ties in the voting.