Three Jayhawks Tabbed To Preseason All-Big 12 Football First Team

July 20, 2007


Kansas offensive lineman Anthony Collins, defensive lineman James McClinton and cornerback Aqib Talib were all tabbed to the Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team, which was selected by a conference media panel the league office announced on Friday.

Only Texas, with seven selections, and Oklahoma with four picks, had more players voted to the team than Kansas. Oklahoma State and Texas A&M each joined Kansas with three honorees.

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy was voted the league’s offensive player of the year, while Oklahoma defensive back Reggie Smith was selected as the defensive player of the year. Nebraska quarterback Sam Keller was named the preseason newcomer of the year in the Big 12.

Collins, a 6-5, 310-pound, junior from Beaumont, Texas, was an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention selection by the Associated Press last season. Collins started all 12 games at right tackle a year ago. He is listed as the starting left tackle heading into fall drills.

McClinton, a 6-1, 285-pound, senior from Garland, Texas, was third in the Big 12 and 34th in the NCAA with 14.5 tackles for loss a year ago. He also added six quarterback sacks en route to making 51 total tackles last year.

In 2006 McClinton earned All-Big 12 First Team recognition from, second-team honors from the Associated Press, and honorable mention accolades from the league’s coaches.

Talib, a 6-2, 205-pound, junior from Houston, Texas, is considered a preseason All-America by nearly every publication. In 2006 he earned All-Big 12 First Team honors after leading the nation in passes defended with 28.

In just 10 games last year he recorded six interceptions and 22 passes broken up to go along with 42 tackles.

Kansas will open its 2007 season hosting defending Mid-American Conference champion Central Michigan on Sept. 1. Season tickets are available through the ticket office at 1-800-34-HAWKS or through the department’s website at

2007 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team (Media Vote)

Offensive Player of the Year: Colt McCoy, Texas (QB, 6-3, 205, So/1L, Tuscola, Texas)

Defensive Player of the Year: Reggie Smith, Oklahoma (DB, 6-1, 197, Jr/2L, Edmond, Okla.)

Newcomer of the Year: Sam Keller, Nebraska (QB, 6-4, 230, Sr/TR, Danville, Calif.)

Offense Pos Name School Ht Wt Cl/Exp Hometown

WR Adarius Bowman Oklahoma State 6-4 220 Sr/1L Chattanooga, Tenn.

TE Martin Rucker Missouri 6-6 255 Sr/3L St. Joseph, Mo.

OL Tony Hills Texas 6-6 305 Sr/3L Houston, Texas

OL Duke Robinson Oklahoma 6-5 330 Jr/2L Atlanta, Ga.

C Cody Wallace Texas A&M 6-4 294 Sr/2L Cuero, Texas

OL Matt Slauson Nebraska 6-5 335 Jr/2L Colorado Springs, Colo.

OL Anthony Collins Kansas 6-5 310 Jr/2L Beaumont, Texas

WR Limas Sweed Texas 6-5 219 Sr/3L Brenham, Texas

QB Colt McCoy Texas 6-3 205 So/1L Tuscola, Texas

RB Jamaal Charles Texas 6-1 200 Jr/2L Port Arthur, Texas

RB Mike Goodson Texas A&M 6-0 197 So/1L Klein, Texas

PK Garrett Hartley Oklahoma 5-9 198 Sr/3L Southlake, Texas

KR Perrish Cox Oklahoma State 6-1 185 So/1L Waco, Texas


DL Ian Campbell Kansas State 6-5 242 Jr/2L Cimarron, Kan.

DL Frank Okam Texas 6-5 320 Sr/3L Dallas, Texas D

L Chris Harrington Texas A&M 6-5 265 Sr/3L Houston, Texas

DL James McClinton Kansas 6-1 285 Sr/2L Garland, Texas

DL Derek Lokey Texas 6-2 280 Sr/3L Denton, Texas

LB Bo Ruud Nebraska 6-3 235 Sr/3L Lincoln, Neb.

LB Alvin Bowen Iowa State 6-2 216 Sr/2L East Orange, N.J.

LB Jordon Dizon Colorado 6-0 225 Sr/3L Kauai, Hawai’i

DB Reggie Smith Oklahoma 6-1 197 Jr/2L Edmond, Okla.

DB Aqib Talib Kansas 6-1 205 Jr/2L Richardson, Texas

DB Marcus Watts Kansas State 6-1 189 Sr/3L Hays, Kan.

DB Marcus Griffin Texas 6-0 202 Sr/3L Austin, Texas

P Matt Fodge Oklahoma State 6-1 195 Jr/2L Garland, Texas

PR Reggie Smith Oklahoma 6-1 197 Jr/2L Edmond, Okla.