KU's Thorson Named As Good Works Team Nominee

July 20, 2010

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas football senior Brad Thorson has been named as a nominee for the 2010 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team it was announced Tuesday. In all, 57 student-athletes from across the nation are up for the final Football Bowl Series 11-man team, which will be released in late September.

Thorson, a returning starter on the offensive line for the Jayhawks’ football team, has been heavily involved in community service since his arrival on the KU campus in 2008.

“From the moment Brad became a Jayhawk, he has been a strong leader amongst his peers, both on the football team and throughout all student-athletes,” said KU associate athletics director Mike Harrity. “Brad embraces the opportunity to have a positive influence on the people around him.”

Thorson has been involved in numerous community service activities with KU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, from visiting elementary school classrooms to helping build with Habitat For Humanity to working with Special Olympics among others.

Last April, Thorson donated his hair to Pantene, an organization which produces wigs for cancer patients.

Thorson said it was easy to get involved in community activities after he transferred to Kansas from Wisconsin ahead of the 2008 season.

“When I got here it was easy to follow the leads of (former players) Mike Rivera and Darrell Stuckey (one of the 11 Football Bowl Series AFCA Good Works Team members last year),” Thorson said. “It was obvious that some of the best athletes, not only on the football team, but in all sports, were also great in the community and cared about this place.

“We have great mentors and a great structure for student-athletes who want to get involved, so that helps make it easy,” he said.

Thorson said he enjoys having Kansas student-athletes honored for off the field success.

“It is good to get recognized for something other than winning or losing or giving up sacks,” he said. “It is good to have people care about other things than just the scoreboard. Making this place better is very important.”

Last year Thorson was named KU’s top offensive lineman while starting all 12 games, including eight at left guard and four at right tackle. He earned Academic All-Big 12 First Team honors while working on his master’s degree in economics. He graduated early from Wisconsin with a degree in business in the summer of 2008.

2010 allstate AFCA Good Works Football Bowl Subdivision (Div I-A) Nominees

Arizona State University – Thomas Weber

Baylor University – Robert Griffin

Bowling Green State University – Ben Bojicic

Brigham Young University – Riley Nelson

Central Michigan University – Brian Bennyhoff

Clemson University – Mason Cloy

Colorado State University – Eugene Daniels

Duke University – Bryan Morgan

Florida State University – Christian Ponder

Georgia Institute of Technology – Roddy Jones

Indiana University – Ben Chappell

Iowa State University – Alex Alvarez

Kansas State University – Alex Hrebec

Marshall University – Lee Smith

Michigan State University – Kirk Cousins

Northern Illinois University – Adam Kiel

Northwestern University – Corbin Bryant

Ohio State University – Bryant Browning

Oklahoma State University – Andrew McGee

Penn State University – Stefen Wisniewski

Purdue University – Kyle Adams

Rice University – Cheta Ozougwu

Rutgers University – Howard Barbieri

Southern Methodist University – Pete Fleps

Syracuse University – Bud Tribbey

Temple University – Amara Kamara

Texas A&M University – Jerrod Johnson

Texas Christian University – Tejay Johnson

Texas Tech University – Baron Batch

University of Alabama – John Michael Boswell

University of Connecticut – Zach Hurd

University of Florida – Jeff Demps

University of Idaho – Tyrone Novikoff

University of Iowa – Julian Vandervelde

University of Kansas – Brad Thorson

University of Kentucky – Randall Cobb

University of Memphis – Dominik Riley

University of Mississippi – Jerrell Powe

University of Missouri – Dan Hoch

University of Nebraska-Lincoln – Alex Henery

University of Nevada-Las Vegas – Matt Murphy

University of North Carolina – Robert Quinn

University of Notre Dame – Dayne Crist

University of Oklahoma – Quinton Carter

University of Pittsburgh – Greg Romeus

University of South Carolina – Cliff Matthews

University of Southern California – D.J. Shoemate

University of Southern Mississippi – Austin Davis

U.S. Naval Academy – Ricky Dobbs

University of Tennessee – Nick Reveiz

University of Texas-Austin – Sam Acho

University of Texas-El Paso – Donald Buckram

University of Toledo – Colin McHugh

University of Virginia – Ras-I Dowling

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University – Danny Coale

University of Wisconsin – Scott Tolzien

Western Michigan University – Nick Mitchell