KU's Hawkinson Named To All-Big 12 Preseason Team

July 22, 2010

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas offensive tackle Tanner Hawkinson was named to the 2010 Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team, which was chosen by media representatives who cover the Conference it was announced Thursday.

Hawkinson, a 6-6, 293-pound sophomore from McPherson, Kan., started at left tackle in all 12 games for the Jayhawks last season as a freshman. He earned a number of awards for his 2009 performance, including First-Team Freshman All-America by the Football Writers Assocation of America, The Sporting News and CollegeFootballNews.com.

He was a second-team Freshman All-America pick by Phil Steele, while earning All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors. He was also named KU’s most improved offensive player by the Jayhawk coaches last season.

Hawkinson originally came to KU as a tight end ahead of the 2008 season, but spent time on the defensive side of the ball as well during his redshirt year. In the spring of 2009 he emerged as the top left tackle and manned that position every game last year.

He leads a group of four returning starters on the KU offensive line. The Jayhawks will report to campus on August 3 and hold their first practice on August 4. KU kicks off the season hosting North Dakota State on Sept. 4. Season tickets are available online at www.kuathletics.com.

2010 Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year:

Jerrod Johnson, Texas A&M (QB, 6-5, 243, Sr/3L, Humble, Texas)

Defensive Co-Players of the Year:

Jared Crick, Nebraska (DL, 6-6, 285, Jr, 2L, Cozad, Neb.) and Von Miller, Texas A&M (DE/LB, 6-3, 240, Sr/3L, DeSoto, Texas)

Newcomer of the Year:

Toney Clemons, Colorado (WR, 6-2, 205, Jr/TR, New Kensington, Pa.)


Pos Name School Ht Wt Cl/Exp Hometown

WR Ryan Broyles2 Oklahoma 5-11 178 Jr/2L Norman, Okla.

TE Mike McNeill Nebraska 6-4 235 Sr/3L Kirkwood, Mo.

OL Nate Solder1 Colorado 6-9 300 Sr/3L Buena Vista, Calif.

OL Ryan Miller Colorado 6-8 310 Jr/3L Littleton, Colo.

C Tim Barnes Missouri 6-4 310 Sr/3L Longwood, Mo.

OL Tanner Hawkinson Kansas 6-6 293 So/1L McPherson, Kan.

OL Stephen Good Oklahoma 6-6 291 Jr/2L Paris, Texas

OL Kyle Hix Texas 6-7 325 Sr/3L Aledo, Texas

WR Jeff Fuller Texas A&M 6-4 215 Jr/2L McKinney, Texas

QB Jerrod Johnson2 Texas A&M 6-5 243 Sr/3L Humble, Texas

RB Daniel Thomas1 Kansas State 6-2 228 Sr/1L Hilliard, Fla.

RB DeMarco Murray^2 Oklahoma 6-1 214 Sr/3L Las Vegas, Nev.

PK Alex Henery^2 Nebraska 6-2 175 Sr/3L Omaha, Neb.

KR Cyrus Gray Texas A&M 5-10 196 Jr/2L DeSoto, Texas


DL Aldon Smith Missouri 6-5 255 So/1L Raytown, Mo.

DL Jared Crick1 Nebraska 6-6 285 Jr/2L Cozad, Neb.

DL Jeremy Beal2 Oklahoma 6-3 261 Sr/3L Carrollton, Texas

DL Sam Acho Texas 6-3 260 Sr/3L Dallas, Texas

LB Travis Lewis^1 Oklahoma 6-2 232 Jr/2L San Antonio, Texas

LB Keenan Robinson Texas 6-3 239 Jr/2L Plano, Texas

LB Von Miller1 Texas A&M 6-3 240 Sr/3L DeSoto, Texas

LB Brian Duncan Texas Tech 6-1 240 Sr/3L Baton Rouge, La.

DB Prince Amukamara1 Nebraska 6-1 205 Sr/3L Glendale, Ariz.

DB Quinton Carter2 Oklahoma 6-1 193 Sr/3L Las Vegas, Nev.

DB Aaron Williams Texas 6-1 195 Jr/2L Round Rock, Texas

DB Curtis Brown Texas 6-0 184 Sr/3L Gilmer, Texas

DB Blake Gideon Texas 6-1 205 Jr/2L Leander, Texas

P Derek Epperson1 Baylor 6-3 235 Sr/3L Southlake, Texas

PR Ryan Broyles^ Oklahoma 5-11 178 Jr/2L Norman, Okla.

^ 2009 Preseason Team

1 2009 All-Big 12 First Team selection

2 2009 All-Big 12 Second Team selection

Ties in voting created an additional spot at offensive line, defensive back and linebacker.

Unanimous selections: DL – Jared Crick (NU) and Jeremy Beal (OU); LB – Travis Lewis (OU)