KU's Stuckey Named To Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Nomination List

July 30, 2009


Kansas senior football standout Darrell Stuckey has been named as a nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team it was announced this week.

The award honors football players who make outstanding contributions in the areas of volunteerism and civic involvement. An 11-player team will be announced later in the year.

Stuckey has been one of the most community-involved student-athletes at Kansas in his Jayhawk tenure. His volunteer activities include speaking at schools, working with the Special Olympics, Habitat For Humanity and the Read With The Jayhawks programs among many others.

In 2009 Stuckey will represent the student body as he won a seat on the KU Student Senate during elections last spring.

Stuckey is also on the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List, which recognizes players for their impact on the field and off the field.

Last year Stuckey was named a Big 12 Community of Champions member, while also earning his team’s co-Leadership Award.

On the field, Stuckey was an All-Big 12 First Team selection in 2008. He was second on the team in tackles with 98, while leading the team with five interceptions.

Allstate AFCA Football Bowl Subdivision Nominees

Arizona Sate University – Mike Nixon

Auburn University – Walter McFadden

Ball State – Brandon Crawford

Baylor University – Joe Pawelek

Boise State University – Richie Brockel

Brigham Young University – Jan Jorgensen

Central Michigan University – Dan LeFevour

Clemson University – Xavier Dye

Colorado State University – Adrian Martinez

Duke University – Kevin Jones

Indiana University – Jammie Kirlew

Kansas State University – Jeron Mastrud

Louisiana State University – Lyle Hitt

Middle Tennessee State University – Phillip Tanner

Northern Illinois University – David Bryant

Northwestern University – Andrew Brewer

Ohio University – Lee Renfro

Ohio State University – Kurt Coleman

Oregon State University – Taylor Kavanaugh

Pennsylvania State University – Stefen Wisniewski

Rutgers University – Billy Anderson

San Jose State University – Travis Jones

Temple University – Dominique Harris

University of Akron – Alex Allen

University of Alabama – Javier Arenas

University of Arkansas – D.J. Williams

University of Central Florida – Rocky Ross

University of Florida – Tim Tebow

University of Georgia – Jeff Owens

University of Houston – Case Keenum

University of Iowa – Julian Vandervelde

University of Kansas – Darrell Stuckey

University of Kentucky – Alfonso Smith

University of Memphis – Dominik Riley

University of Michigan – Zoltan Mesko

University of Missouri – Kurtis Gregory

University of Nebraska-Lincoln – Roy Helu, Jr.

University of North Carolina – Kyle Jolly

University of Notre Dame – Jimmy Clausen

University of Oklahoma – Sam Bradford

University of Pittsburgh – Adam Gunn

University of South Carolina – Mauricus Brown

University of Texas – Austin – Jordan Shipley

University of California-Los Angeles – Derrick Coleman

University of Texas-El Paso – Cameron Raschke

U.S. Air Force Academy – Nick Charles

U.S. Naval Academy – Ross Pospisil

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University – Tyrod Taylor

Wake Forest University – Benjamin Wooster

West Virginia University – Reed Williams

University of Wisconsin – Chris Maragos

Western Michigan University – Tim Hiller