KU's Sharp Tabbed As Walker Award Candidate

Aug. 4, 2009

Link To KU Athletics Feature On Jake Sharp

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas senior football player Jake Sharp was named as a candidate for the 2009 Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation’s top running back, it was announced on Tuesday.

Sharp was one of 45 players named to the preseason list, which includes seven players from the Big 12 Conference.

Sharp averaged 66.2 yards per game last year to rank eighth in the Big 12 and 70th nationally, but upped his average to 88.8 yards per game against conference opponents. That mark was third in the league behind Kendall Hunter of Oklahoma State and Chris Brown of Oklahoma.

Sharp, a Salina, Kan. native, earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors on the field and was an Academic All-Big 12 selection for his work in the classroom in 2008.

After sharing the running back duties through the non-conference portion of the 2008 season, Sharp became the featured back in Big 12 play as 90 percent of his 860 rushing yards (774) came in the last nine games.

Sharp became the first running back in school history to record 100 receiving yards in a game when he had 107 against Iowa State while adding 79 rushing yards in the Big 12 opener.

He then produced three 100-yard rushing performances in the next four games, including a 181-yard effort against Kansas State. Against the Wildcats he scored a school-record-tying four touchdowns, while recording just 21 carries.

For his career, Sharp has rushed for 1,810 yards and 19 touchdowns, while averaging 5.1 yards per carry. He has also added 519 receiving yards and three more scores.

His rushing yardage total ranks 13th in KU history and he needs just 190 yards to become the 10th Jayhawk to reach 2,000 career yards. His 19 touchdowns are tied for ninth on the school career rushing touchdown list. June Henley rushed for 41 touchdowns, while Tony Sands is second with 28 scores on the ground.

The award is in its 20th year and is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award which requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced Nov.12, finalists Nov. 23 and the winner Dec. 10. For more information on the award visit doakwalkeraward.com.

2009 Doak Walker Award Candidates

Armando Allen (Jr.), Notre Dame

André Anderson (Sr.), Tulane

Reggie Arnold (Sr.), Arkansas State

Baron Batch (Jr.), Texas Tech

Jahvid Best (Jr.), California, Berkeley

LeGarrette Blount (Sr.), Oregon

Chris Brown (Sr.), Oklahoma

Donald Buckram (Jr.), UTEP

John Clay (So.), Wisconsin

DaJuane Collins (Sr.), Toledo

Jeff Demps (So.), Florida

Noel Devine (Jr.), West Virginia

Andre Dixon (Sr.), Connecticut

Shaun Draughn (Jr.), North Carolina

Jonathan Dwyer (Jr.), Georgia Tech

Jamelle Eugene (Sr.), North Carolina State

Darren Evans (So.), Virginia Tech

Damion Fletcher (Sr.), Southern Mississippi

Toby Gerhart (Sr.), Stanford

Cyrus Gray (So.), Texas A&M

Nicolas (Nic) Grigsby (Jr.), Arizona

DuJuan Harris (Jr.), Troy

Roy Helu, Jr. (Jr.), Nebraska

Dan Herron (So.), Ohio State

Kendall Hunter (Jr.), Oklahoma State

Mark Ingram (So.), Alabama

Eugene Jarvis (Sr.), Kent State

MiQuale Lewis (Sr.), Ball State

Darius Marshall (Jr.), Marshall

Brandon Minor (Sr.), Michigan

DeMarco Murray (Jr.), Oklahoma

Daniel Porter (Sr.), Louisiana Tech

Jacquizz Rodgers (So.), Oregon State

Charles Scott (Sr.), LSU

Da’Rel Scott (Jr.), Maryland

Jake Sharp (Sr.), Kansas

Michael Smith (Sr.), Arkansas

C.J. Spiller (Sr.), Clemson

James Starks (Sr.), Buffalo

Curtis Steele (Sr.), Memphis

Phillip Tanner (Sr.), Middle Tennessee State

Vai Taua (Jr.), Nevada

Jordan Todman (So.), Connecticut

Joseph Turner (Sr.), TCU

Brandon West (Sr.), Western Michigan