KU's Stuckey Named To Thorpe Award Watch List

Aug. 7, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas football safety Darrell Stuckey has been named as one of 31 players on the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List announced this week. The award is given annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

The 2008 All-Big 12 First Team selection is one of five players from the Big 12 Conference on the list. Stuckey, a 6-1, 205-pound, senior from Kansas City, Kan. proved to be one of the nation’s top safeties a year ago as he recorded 98 tackles and five interceptions.

His 98 tackles were second on the team and were the most by a Jayhawk defensive back since 2003. He also broke up seven passes to rank second on the team, while his five interceptions topped last year’s squad.

Stuckey was a fixture in last year’s secondary as KU rotated seven different players as starters at the other three defensive backfield positions throughout the season.

His best game in 2008 came in the victory against Missouri when he recorded six tackles, two interceptions, one pass broken up, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. For his efforts he was named the Big 12 Conference Defensive Player of the Week.

Heading into the 2009 season, Stuckey is one of KU’s four co-captains. He is also a candidate for the Lott Trophy, a defensive honor which recognizes on and off the field excellence, and is an All-State AFCA Good Works Team Nominee for his contributions in the community. Stuckey will also represent the student body as a member of the KU Student Senate this year.

Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Javier Arenas, Alabama, Sr.

Aaron Berry, Pittsburgh, Sr.

Eric Berry, Tennessee, Jr.

Ahmad Black, Florida, Jr.

Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech, Jr.

Kendric Burey, North Carolina, Jr.

Crezdon Butler, Clemson, Sr.

Kam Chancellor, Virginia Tech, Sr.

Chris Chancellor, Clemson, Sr.

Barry Church, Toledo, Sr.

Kurt Coleman, Ohio State, Sr.

Perrish Cox, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Ras-I Dowling, Virginia, Jr.

Van Eskridge, East Carolina, Sr.

Dominique Franks, Oklahoma, Jr.

Joe Haden, Florida, Jr.

Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State, Sr.

Reshad Jones, Georgia, Jr.

Jordan Lake, Baylor, Sr.

Myron Lewis, Vanderbilt, Sr.

Trevard Lindley, Kentucky, Sr.

Taylor Mays, USC, Sr.

Amari Spievey, Iowa, Jr.

Darrell Stuckey, Kansas, Sr.

Earl Thomas, Texas, So.

Syd’Quan Thompson, California, Sr.

Walter Thurmond, Oregon, Sr.

Alterraun Verner, UCLA, Sr.

Stephan Virgil, Virginia Tech, Sr.

Deunta Williams, North Carolina, Jr.

Kyle Wilson, Boise State, Sr.