Kansas Football Notebook

Kansas Football Notebook

Touchdown Duo

The duo of Dezmon Briscoe and Kerry Meier has produced 32 combined career touchdown receptions. That figure ties for the fourth-highest scoring wide receiver duo in the nation according to a survey conducted by the UTEP Media Relations office. UTEP’s pair of wideouts have 36 touchdown catches heading into 2009 followed by duos from Central Michigan (34) and Memphis (33). Tulsa also has 32 scores from its top two receivers.

Returning Starters

Kansas returns eight offensive starters and seven defensive starters from last year’s Insight Bowl Championship team. Here is a look at the number of players and career starts for the Jayhawks at each position:

Offensive Line – Three players (26 combined starts)

Wide Receiver/Tight End – Seven players (53 combined starts)

Running Back – One player (11 starts)

Quarterback – Two players (38 starts)

Defensive Line – Five players (49 starts)

Linebacker – One player (six starts)

Secondary – Seven players (81 starts)

(Note: Kerry Meier’s 13 starts at quarterback and 12 starts at wide receiver are included at those respective positions.)

Three-Year Leader

Since statistics have been available (1937), only six players in Kansas history have led the team in passing in three seasons. Senior Todd Reesing is bidding to become the seventh player on that list. Others include Ralph Miller (1938-39, 41), Wally Strauch (1955-57), David Jaynes (1971-73), Frank Seurer (1980-83), Kelly Donohoe (1987-89), and Chip Hilleary (1990-92). Seurer is the only player to lead in four different years.

Watch Lists

It has been a great preseason for Kansas as far as getting Jayhawks on the national award watch lists. Here is a look at some of the preseason lists already out:

Wide Receiver Dezmon Briscoe

Maxwell Award (top player)

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver)

Wide Receiver Kerry Meier

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver

Quarterback Todd Reesing

Maxwell Award (top player)

Walter Camp Award (top player)

O’Brien Award (top quarterback)

Unitas Award (top senior quarterback)

Running Back Jake Sharp

Doak Walker Award (top running back)

Safety Darrell Stuckey

Bednarik Award (top defender)

Thorpe Award (top defensive back)

Lott Award (on and off the field success for defender)

AFCA Good Works Team Nominee (off the field contributions)

Watch Parties

All four Kansas non-conference games will be televised in September. It is the first time in school history that all four non-conference games will be televised nationally in one season. Here is a look (all times Central):

Sept. 5 vs. Northern Colorado, 6 p.m. (Fox College Sports Central)

(check on foxsports.com to see if your television provider has this station).

Sept. 12 at UTEP, 6:30 p.m. (CBS College Sports)

Sept. 19 vs. Duke, 11 a.m. (Versus)

Sept. 26 vs. Southern Mississippi (FSN)

Jayhawks Currently In The NFL

With NFL training camps underway, here is a look at former Jayhawks on NFL rosters as of August 14:

Anthony Collins, Cincinnati

Derek Fine, Buffalo

Justin Hartwig, Pittsburgh

Marcus Henry, New York Jets

James Holt, San Diego

Adrian Jones, Houston

Moran Norris, San Francisco

Brandon Rideau, Chicago

Mike Rivera, Chicago

Mark Simmons, Houston

Aqib Talib, Tampa Bay

New Turf Nearly Ready For Play

The new FieldTurf being installed at Kivisto Field at Memorial Stadium is nearly ready for play. The Jayhawks will play their first game on the new turf on Sept. 5. It replaces the old AstroPlay surface that was installed in 2000.