KU Runners Tabbed Academic All-Big 12

Aug. 23, 2004

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The 2003 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Academic All-Big 12 teams were announced Tuesday, Oct. 28 by the league office. The Big 12 Conference honored 114 student-athletes (58 women, 56 men), including fourteen runners from the University of Kansas men’s and women’s cross country teams.

Earning first-team accolades for the KU women’s team were seniors Lauren Brownrigg (Tualatin, Ore.) studying sports management, Paige Higgins (Littleton, Colo.) studying printmaking and Laura Lavoie (Springfield, Mo.) studying psychology. Juniors Megan Manthe (Anoka, Minn.) studying biochemistry, Julie Mullally (Fremont, Neb.) studying design and Arrah Nielsen (Wichita, Kan.) studying anthropology also received first team honors. Manthe was one of the 12 student-athletes nominated with a 4.0 grade-point average or higher. Junior Michelle Friedman (Franklin, La.) studying nursing, was selected to the second-team.

The men’s cross country team had four athletes named to the All-Big 12 first team and three to the second team. Senior Brian Raggett (Overland Park, Kan.), a business administration major, junior Chris Jones (Iowa City, Iowa) a business administration major, sophomore Cameron Schwehr (Colbert, Wash.), whose major is undecided and sophomore Erik Sloan (Glenview, Ill.), who is majoring in history, were all recognized with first-team honors. Senior Steve Vockrodt (Aurora, Colo.) a journalism major, junior Dan Ferguson (Medicine Lodge, Kan.) a Secondary Education-Social Studies major and sophomore Joshy Madathil (Liberal, Kan.), a computer enginering major were each named to the second team.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the cross country academic all-league squad consisted of 94 combined first-team members with 20 on the second team. First-team members consist of those who maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those who have posted 3.00 to 3.19 GPAs.To qualify student-athletes must have a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

The Kansas men’s and women’s cross country teams travel to Spicewood, Texas this Friday to compete at the eighth annual Big 12 Championships hosted by the University of Texas and held at the Barton Creek Lakeside Country Club. The men’s 8k race will begin at 9 a.m. and the women’s 6k races at 10 a.m. Championship results can be accessed via the Big 12 website at www.big12sports.com or via the Texas website at www.TexasSports.com.