Softball Hands Out Postseason Awards

May 16, 2004

LAWRENCE, Kan. – After a successful but disappointing run at the Big 12 Conference Tournament, the University of Kansas softball team celebrated another winning season at the team’s annual postseason banquet. The Jayhawks, who finished the 2004 season 33-28-1, were not among the 64-team field announced later in the NCAA Tournament Selection Show.

In addition to reviewing the 2004 season and honoring KU’s six seniors, individual team awards were handed out at the event. Senior first baseman Leah Mountain was given the Jayhawk Pride, Most Improved Player and Defensive MVP awards while sophomore left fielder Heather Stanley was Offensive MVP and senior hurler Kara Pierce was named Team MVP.

Pierce (19-12), who had the best season of her four-year career at KU, was also announced as a member of the 2004 Big 12 Softball All-Tournament team. Pierce, also a 2004 All-Big 12 Second-Team honoree, posted a 0.35 ERA, struck out 14 and held opponents to a .109 batting average in three games in the postseason tournament.

A total of five Big 12 teams earned NCAA bids — Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas A&M, Baylor and Missouri. Of the 64 selections, 26 were automatic bids and 38 were at-large. The ‘Hawks, who were 26-22 last season, last received an NCAA Tournament bid in 1999 when they finished 31-30 overall.