Aqib Talib Named To Walter Camp Player Of The Year Watch List

Aug. 23, 2007


Another preseason accolade has been given to <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Kansas cornerback Aqib Talib as the junior was named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year Award Watch List this week.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Taib, a 6-2, 205-pound, Richardson, Texas product, is one of 35 players who are on the list. He is one of only nine defensive players who made the list as well as one of just three Big 12 players to be selected as he is joined by Colt McCoy and Limas Sweed of Texas.

Earlier this summer Talib was named to the Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List, whose trophy goes to the nation’s best defensive player.

Talib has been on virtually every publication’s preseason All-America team after earning All-Big 12 First Team honors a year ago. In 2006 he posted 42 tackles, led the nation with 28 passes defended and tied for the Big 12 lead with six interceptions, while playing just 10 games.

“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president John Barbarotta said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November. The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 12, 2008 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Last year’s recipient was OhioState quarterback Troy Smith.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation ( – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All America team.

2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year “Watch List”

Anthony Alridge, RB, Senior, Houston

Travis Beckum, TE, Junior, Wisconsin #

Earl Bennett, WR, Junior, Vanderbilt

Yvenson Bernard, RB, Senior, OregonState

Tommy Blake, DL, Senior, TCU

John David Booty, QB, USC

Colt Brennan, QB, Senior, Hawaii #

Jasper Brinkley, LB, Senior, South Carolina

Brian Brohm, QB, Senior, Louisville

Dan Connor, LB, Senior, PennState

Chase Daniel,QB, Junior, Missouri

James Davis, RB, Junior, Clemson

Jarett Dillard, WR, Senior, Rice #

Glenn Dorsey, DL, Senior, LSU

Michael Hart, RB, Senior, Michigan #

Omar Haugabook, QB, Senior, Troy

Jonathan Hefney, DB/KR, Senior, Tennessee

P.J. Hill, RB, Sophomore, Wisconsin

Chad Henne, QB, Senior, Michigan

DeSean Jackson, WR/KR, Junior, California *

Lawrence Jackson, DE, Junior, USC

Tyson Jackson, DL, Junior, LSU

Ian Johnson, RB, Junior, BoiseState

James Laurinaitis, LB, Junior, OhioState *

Nate Longshore, QB, Junior, California

Mario Manningham, WR, Senior, Michigan

Colt McCoy, QB, Sophomore, Texas

Darren McFadden, RB, Junior, Arkansas *

Kalvin McRae, RB, Senior, Ohio

Matt Ryan, QB, Senior, BostonCollege

Ray Rice, RB, Junior, Rutgers #

Steve Slaton, RB, Junior, West Virginia *

C.J. Spiller, RB, Sophomore, Clemson

Tyrell Sutton, RB, Junior, Northwestern

Limas Sweed, WR, Senior, Texas

Aqib Talib, DB, Junior, Kansas

Pat White, QB, Junior, West Virginia

* 2006 Walter Camp First Team All America

# 2006 Walter Camp Second Team All America