Frederick, Fambrough Named to Harris Panel

Aug. 25, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. — Two former University of Kansas employees with ties to the football program were recently named to a 114-member panel that will comprise the inaugural Harris Interactive College Football Poll. Former Jayhawk Athletics Director Bob Frederick and former head football coach Don Fambrough were both named to the panel on Monday.

Frederick was KU’s Athletics Director from 1987-2001 and also was a basketball player and assistant basketball coach. He earned a doctorate in education from KU in 1984. Fambrough was KU’s head football coach from 1971-74 and from 1979-82. Of the nine bowl games that the University of Kansas has participated in, Fambrough played or coached in five of them.

The poll is designed as one of three components in the Bowl Championship Series Standings Formula used to determine the two teams that play in the BCS National Championship game and those that qualify for at-large selections. The Rose Bowl will play host to this season’s BCS National Championship game on January 4, 2006 in Pasadena, Calif.

The Bowl Championship Series formula for the 2005 season will consist of the new Harris Interactive College Football Poll, the USA Today Coaches Poll, and an average of six computer rankings (Anderson & Hester, Richard Billingsley, Colley Matrix, Kenneth Massey, Jeff Sagarin and Peter Wolfe). The first BCS standings will be released on October 17th.

The 2005 Harris Interactive College Football Poll is comprised of 114 panelists including former coaches, players, administrators and media. The panel was randomly drawn by Harris Interactive from among more than 300 nominations supplied by the conference offices and Notre Dame. The panel meets Harris Interactive criteria for sample design and is a statistically reliable representation of all 11 Division I-A conferences and independent institutions. The Harris Poll will debut on September 25th, four weeks into the 2005 season, and be available online at

“Harris Interactive has been diligent in creating a voting panel that is balanced, statistically valid, and representative of all I-A conferences and independents,” BCS coordinator and Big 12 Conference commissioner Kevin Weiberg said.