KU Cross Country Hosts Bob Timmons Classic

Kansas Meet Notes

Aug. 29, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas Cross Country is set to get its season underway Saturday as the Jayhawks host the Bob Timmons Classic at Rim Rock Farm.

“Our cross country meet is our one and only home cross country event,” head coach Stanley Redwine said. “We would love the fans to come and watch us race. We understand that it’s early in the season for the team, but it’s a good time for them to come see the Jayhawks compete.”

The action kicks off at 9:00 a.m. CST with the men’s 8K race, followed by the women’s 5K race at 10:00 a.m. CST. Men’s and women’s teams from Allen County CC, Butler County CC, Garden City CC, Grinnell College, Haskell Indian Nations, Park University and the University of Missouri-Kansas City along with KU are set to compete. Also participating will be the Kansas Alumni Team.

Racing for the women’s team will be senior Megan James, juniors Lauren Bonds, Alison Knoll, Kellie Schneider and Cassi Sokol, sophomores Kaitlyn Coen, Claire Hall, Amanda Miller and Riley Wertenberger, and freshmen Amanda Akin, Laura Nightengale, Lindsay Schaefer, Rebeka Stowe, Devin Wiegers and Kara Windisch.

“We have a little bit more experienced team this year with the women,” Coach Redwine said. “We’re looking for them to place better this year than they did last year, when we had a young team. I think overall our women’s team will be a better program.”

Scheduled to compete for the men are seniors Victor Chesang and Brock Ternes, juniors Levi Huseman, Bret Imgrund and Isaiah Shirlen, sophomores Nick Caprario and Dan Van Orsdel, and freshmen Kaleb Humphreys, Clay Schneider, and Donny Wasinger.

“Everyone has a role,” Redwine explained. “With the new people that are coming in now, there is definitely something expected of them. I think in order for the team to succeed, some of those guys have to step up and do a good job immediately.”

Kansas Alumni Team members include Benson Chesang, Dan Ferguson, Charlie Gruber, Paul Hefferon, DJ Hilding, David Johnston, Chris Jones, Doug Klepper, Joshy Madathil, Patrick McGowan, Mark Menefee, Jerry Pullins, Chris Ronan, Andy Tate, Steve Vockrodt, Tyson Willoughby and Colby Wissel.

Both the Kansas men and women took home the title last season at the Bob Timmons Classic.

Full results along with a complete recap will be available at KUathletics.com following the completion of the race.