Rowers Recognized with Distinction

Aug. 31, 2006


Kansas Athletics has announced that three of its members of the women’s rowing team have been named KU Women of Distinction for the 2006-07 academic year. Seniors Whitney Fasbender, Tiffany Jeffers and Lindsey Miles earned the pretigious recognition for their dedication to both their academic and athletic responsibilities.

Fasbender, a journalism and pre-nursing major, is a member of the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll and Athletic Director’s Honor Roll since 2002. She currently serves as an undergratuate teaching assistant in Human Anatomy and Human Physiology and is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society.

Jeffers, an athletic training major and religious studies minor, has been recognized as a Jayhawk Scholar Athlete for every semester since Fall 2003. Last season, she was named Most Improved Oarswoman on the squad and took third-place in the open single race at the Head of the Iowa Regatta in Fall 2005.

Miles, a community health and pre-nursing major, was named Academic First Team All-District 7 by the College Sports Information Directors of America in 2005. She carries a 4.00 GPA and has been named to the Dean’s List, Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll every semester during her enrollment at KU. She also has been a member of the first varisty eight boat from 2004-06.

For receiving the honor, Fasbender, Jeffers and Miles will join other distinguished KU women on a poster/calender that is available throughout campus. In past years, Kansas Athletics has seen several members of its programs receive the honor, including Destiny Frankenstein, a former softball player, Caroline Smith, a former women’s soccer player and Kim Clark, a former member of the Kansas track and field team.