Kansas Women's Golf to Host Marilynn Smith Invitational Monday and Tuesday

Sept. 24, 2010

LAWRENCE, Kan.—Kansas women’s golf looks to build off of its early success in the 2010 season as the Jayhawks, led by seniors Grace Thiry and Meghna Bal, host the 2010 Marilynn Smith Invitational at Alvamar Country Club in Lawrence, Kan., on Sept. 27 and 28.

Thiry and Bal are both coming off of strong finishes at the Chip N Club Invitational where each finished tied for fourth place and the Jayhawks finished tied second overall.

“I’m really excited to play in our home tournament,” said Thiry, “especially after our success at Nebraska.”

Thiry posted a three round score of 243 at last year’s Marilynn Smith Invitational.

“I’m hoping to stay patient and take it one shot at a time and have fun,” Thiry said. “Hopefully good results will follow.”

Kansas will compete alongside Big 12 foes Kansas State and Nebraska as well as Arkansas-Little Rock, Arkansas State, Creighton, Illinois State, Missouri-Kansas City, Northern Iowa, Oral Roberts, South Florida and Wichita State.

“We are excited to be hosting the Marilynn Smith this year,” said Kansas head coach Erin O’Neil. “We got off to a good start in Nebraska and the goal is to continue with the same focus and attitude again this week.”

Joining Bal and Thiry in the Kansas lineup are Katy Nugent, Maria Jackson and Fhong Boonraksasat. Nugent tied for 16th with a two round score of 152 in her first competition for the Jayhawks at the Chip N Club Invitational.

Freshman Meghan Potee will make her collegiate debut at the event, competing as an individual. Also competing as individuals are Audrey Yowell and Jennifer Clark. Clark finished tied for 23rd at the Chip N Club while Yowell finished 75th.

The last Jayhawk to win the event was Emily Powers in 2008.

Kansas line-up

1. Meghna Bal

2. Grace Thiry

3. Katy Nugent

4. Maria Jackson

5. Fhong Boonraksasat

6. Audrey Yowell (individual)

7. Jennifer Clark (individual)

8. Meghan Potee (individual)