Reesing Named Semifinalist For Campbell Trophy

Oct. 1, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing was named as a semifinalist for the 20th William V. Campbell Trophy it was announced by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Thursday.

A nominee must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability and demonstrate strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was formerly known as the Draddy Trophy.

Reesing, a double major in finance and economics, is a two-year captain for the top 20-ranked Jayhawks. He ranks in the top 12 of the NCAA in four different statistical categories, including ninth in completions, 11th in total offense and 12th in both passing yards per game and points responsible for.

The holder of nearly every Kansas passing record, Reesing is a two-time academic All-Big 12 selection and will be a candidate for Academic All-America honors this season.

Other national honors Reesing has been listed as a candidate for include the Maxwell and Walter Camp Awards for national player of the year, the O’Brien and Manning Awards for the nation’s top quarterback and the Unitas Award for the nation’s top senior quarterback.

“The Campbell Trophy semifinalists represent everything great about college football, having achieved excellence in all aspect of their lives,” said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. “It is the NFF’s duty to promote their accomplishments while encouraging future generations of gridiron standouts to aim high on and off the football field.”

The NFF Awards Committee will select and announce up to 15 finalists on Oct. 29. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2009 NFF National Scholar- Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000, will be announced live at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner on December 8 at the prestigious Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

2009 William V. Campbell Semifinalists

School – Nominee

Alabama – Colin Peek
Arizona State – Mike Nixon
Baylor – Joe Pawelek
Bowling Green State – Craig Rutherford
Brigham Young – Matt Bauman
Central Michigan – Dan LeFevour
Cincinnati – Jeff Linkenbach
Colorado – Jake Behrens
Colorado State – Klint Kubiak
Connecticut – Bradley Kanuch
Eastern Michigan – Andrew Schmitt
Florida – Tim Tebow
Florida International – Paul McCall
Fresno State – Moses Harris
Illinois – Jon Asamoah
Indiana – Jammie Kirlew
Kansas – Todd Reesing
Kansas State – Jeron Mastrud
Kentucky – Ross Bogue
Louisiana-Lafayette – Scott Hayes
Louisville – Joseph Tronzo
LSU – Lyle Hitt
Memphis – Matt Reagan
Miami (Fla.) – Matt Pipho
Michigan – Zoltan Mesko
Middle Tennessee State – Phillip Tanner
Minnesota – Eric Decker
Missouri – Kurtis Gregory
Navy – Ross Pospisil
Nebraska – Wes Cammack
Northern Illinois – Brandon Bice
Northwestern – Andrew Brewer
Notre Dame – Mike Anello
Ohio State – Jim Cordle
Oklahoma – Auston English
Oregon State – Gregg Peat
Penn State – Josh Hull
Rutgers – Devin McCourty
San Diego State – Matthew Kawulok
SMU – Mitch Enright
Southern California – Jeff Byers
Syracuse – Andrew Robinson
Tennessee – Cody Sullins
Texas – Colt McCoy
UCLA – Logan Paulsen
UNLV – Ryan Wolfe
Utah – Zane Beadles
Utah State – Nnamdi Gwacham
Wake Forest – Ben Wooster
Washington State – Kenny Alfred
West Virginia – Reed Williams
Western Michigan – Tim Hiller
Wisconsin – Mickey Turner
Wyoming – Weston Johnson