Kansas Athletics to Honor 1995 Aloha Bowl Champions

Oct. 3, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. — Kansas Athletics is planning a special ceremony to honor the 10-year anniversary of the 1995 KU football team that defeated UCLA 51-30 in the Aloha Bowl. Players, coaches, support staff, trainers and managers from the 1995 team all will be recognized during halftime of KU’s game versus Oklahoma in Kansas City’s Arrowhead Stadium, which begins at 6 p.m. The 1995 Jayhawks finished the season with a school-record 10 wins en route to a 10-2 season.

The 1995 Kansas football team was coached by Glen Mason, who was in his eighth year as head coach of the Jayhawks. Notable players from that bowl team included senior quarterback Mark Williams — who set a KU postseason record by completing his first 10 passes in the Aloha Bowl — senior runningback L.T. Levine, junior running back June Henley, senior wide receiver Ashaundai Smith, senior defensive back Dorian Brew and junior wide receiver Isaac Byrd.

Members and support staff of the 1995 championship team wishing to attend the event should RSVP by Oct. 10 to Pat Henderson, Assistant Athletics Director – Football Relations and Traditions, at 785/864-3196, or by email at phender@ku.edu.

— KU —