Jayhawks Win 2006 Marilynn Smith Sunflower Invitational

Oct. 3, 2006


Final Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of Kansas women’s golf team took top honors Tuesday as they hosted the 2006 Marilynn Smith Sunflower Invitational. Kansas finished with a three-round score of 917 (304-306-307) at the conclusion of play at Alvamar Golf Club (6,232-yard, par-72).

Notre Dame took second, 14 strokes behind Kansas, shooting 931, and Arkansas-Little Rock finished in third carding 934.

“I am very happy we won the tournament,” head coach Erin O’Neil said. “The girls did a good job hanging in there, playing steady and keeping the lead. I am very proud of Emily (Powers) for placing high, and we’re hoping to build on our success for the last two tournaments of the fall season.”

Anita Ojeda of Arkansas-Little Rock took the individual crown with a score of 221 (72-77-72), while Missouri’s Stephanie Wavro placed second individually with a total of 222 strokes (76-75-71). Sara Wikstrom also from Arkansas-Little Rock finished third with 224 combined strokes (75-75-74).

Kansas freshman Emily Powers, who carded a final-round score of 72, took fourth, just one stroke behind third place, with 225 strokes (74-79-72). Fifth place went to Kansas senior Amanda Costner who shot 80 in the final round for a total score of 227 (72-75-80).

Kansas junior Annie Giangrosso took eighth place with 230 (78-76-76), and freshman Meghan Gockel tied for 26th with 237 (80-76-81). Senior Jill Womble shot a 79 in the final round for a three-round score of 242 (82-81-79) to tie for 39th place.

Three Kansas juniors played as individuals — Jaci Hiatt, Kelly Birdsell and JoJo Hallenbeck. Hiatt tied for 66th with a total score of 254, Birdsell finished in a tie for 70th place with 256 strokes and Hallenbeck tied for 87th place with 279.

Up next for the Jayhawks is Price’s NMSU Collegiate Invitational in Las Cruces, N.M., Oct. 16-18.