Kansas-Missouri Rivalry to Take on New Name

Oct. 4, 2004

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The all-sports rivalry between the University of Kansas and the University of Missouri will take on a new name effective immediately, school officials announced Monday.

Formerly known as the Border War, the series will now be called The Border Showdown. University officials changed the name to reflect a sensitivity to current world events.

“We feel that in the aftermath of September 11, 2001, and the ensuing events around the world, it is inappropriate to use the term ‘war’ to describe intercollegiate athletics events,” said Lew Perkins, athletics director at the University of Kansas. “We need to be more sensitive to the men and women who defend our country for real.”

The Border Showdown pits the two schools in head-to-head competition in common sports for the current academic year. The team placing the highest in Big 12 or NCAA Tournament events will be awarded additional points. Postseason bonus points are only applied if both Kansas and Missouri are competing head-to-head. If two teams tie in any event, the points for that event will be split between the two schools. If the schools tie in final total, the school that was victorious in a majority of the head-to-head regular-season games will be declared the Border Showdown Champion. Sports included in the head-to-head competition are — volleyball, soccer, football, men’s and women’s basketball, baseball and softball.

“The Missouri-Kansas rivalry is one of the best and most spirited in the nation, both schools and their fans share a passion for our competition, making an adjustment to the name of this sponsorship is quite appropriate,” said Mike Alden, athletics director at the University of Missouri. “Our rivalry with Kansas is a very important thing to many people, but it certainly pales in comparison with what is taking place overseas, and this is the right thing to do.”

The Midwest Ford Dealers, who have sponsored the series since its inception in the 2002-03 season, have agreed to sponsor the Border Showdown through the 2006-07 school year. Missouri won the inaugural competition, while Kansas took the crown last season.