Kansas' Marcus Morris Named John R. Wooden Award 2010-11 Preseason Top 50 Candidate

Oct. 4, 2010

LOS ANGELES – Kansas junior forward Marcus Morris has been named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 list announced Monday by The Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Morris, one of seven Big 12 student-athletes on the list, is Kansas’ leading returning scorer and rebounder from last season when he averaged 12.8 points and 6.1 rebounds. The 6-9, Philadelphia, native is a two-year starter for the Jayhawks and earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors last season when he led the conference in field goal percentage for league games at 56.1 percent. Morris had five games of 20-plus points in 2009-10 and 14 contests with eight or more rebounds.

“It’s always nice to hear your name in list with a lot of great players but this list is based on what we have done in the past,” Morris said. “We’re getting ready for the season and have a lot of great players on our team that are just as worthy as I am to be on a list like this.”

Last year, KU’s Cole Aldrich and Sherron Collins were named to the Wooden Award preseason top 50 and Collins later became one of five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award and was named Wooden All-American.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December’s Midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. Kansas’ Danny Manning was the 1988 recipient.

2010-11 John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List

Name (school, class, position)

Ty Abbott (Arizona State, Sr., G)

Lavoy Allen (Temple, Sr., F)

Kevin Anderson (Richmond, Sr., G)

Talor Battle (Penn State, Sr., G)

Kenny Boynton (Florida, So., G)

William Buford (Ohio State, Jr., G)

Alec Burks (Colorado, So., G)

Randy Culpepper (UTEP, Sr., G)

Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech, Sr., G)

LaceDarius Dunn (Baylor, Sr., G)

Kim English (Missouri, Jr., G)

Corey Fisher (Villanova, Sr., G)

Jimmer Fredette (BYU, Sr., G)

Austin Freeman (Georgetown, Sr., G)

Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh, Jr., G)

Steven Gray (Gonzaga, Sr., G)

Jordan Hamilton (Texas, So., G/F)

Elias Harris (Gonzaga, So., F)

Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall, Sr., G)

John Henson (North Carolina, So., F)

Cory Higgins (Colorado, Sr., G)

Tyler Honeycutt (UCLA, So., F)

Robbie Hummel (Purdue, Sr., F)

JaJuan Johnson (Purdue, Sr., F/C)

Kris Joseph (Syracuse, Jr., F)

Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State, So., F)

Jon Leuer (Wisconsin, Sr., F)

Kalin Lucas (Michigan State, Sr., F)

Shelvin Mack (Butler, Jr., G)

Demetri McCamey (Illinois, Sr., G)

E’Twaun Moore (Purdue, Sr., G)

Marcus Morris (KANSAS, JR., F)

Jacob Pullen (Kansas State, Sr., G)

John Shurna (Northwestern, Jr., F)

Kyle Singler (Duke, Sr., F)

Chris Singleton (Florida State, Jr., F)

Nolan Smith (Duke, Sr., G)

Tracy Smith (North Carolina State, Sr., F)

Durrell Summers (Michigan State, Sr., G)

Jeffery Taylor (Vanderbilt, Jr., G/F)

Isaiah Thomas (Washington, Jr., G)

Trey Thompkins (Georgia, Jr., F)

Klay Thompson (Washington State, Jr., G)

Joe Trapani (Boston College, Sr., F)

Brandon Triche (Syracuse, So., G)

Nikola Vucevic (USC, Jr., F)

Kemba Walker (Connecticut, Jr., G)

Derrick Williams (Arizona, So., F)

Jordan Williams (Maryland, So. F)

Chris Wright (Dayton, Sr., F)