Q&A with sophomore Monica Pezzotti

Oct. 7, 2010

LAWRENCE, Kan. –

Monica Pezzotti is a native of Colombia. Pezzotti transferred to Kansas from South Carolina-Upstate after her freshman year, and is currently studying in business. Pezzotti has already made her mark on KU tennis, making it to the semifinals in doubles with partner Sara Lazarevic in both the KU Invitational and at the Notre Dame Eck Classic.

Q: When did you start to play tennis?
A: I started to play tennis when I was 10 years old. The reason for that is because I was really fat and my mom wanted me to play a sport. Tennis was my hobby for a year. Then I started to play some regional and national tournaments when I was 12 years old. My tennis coach was Edgar Muñoz who was the first coach of Fabiola Zuluaga (the top player to come out of Columbia who reached No. 16 the in world). I was No. 1 in the Colombian national ranking for three consecutive years. Then, I played some ITF and WTA tournaments, I was No. 146 in the ITF ranking and No. 620 in the WTA doubles ranking.

2. Why did you choose KU?
I heard about KU from (assistant coach German) Dalmagro. But after hearing about KU, I still I decided to go to the University of South Carolina-Upstate because I thought it was a good place to start my life in the U.S. My teammates were from Latin America, therefore I was comfortable there. I transferred to KU after my first semester at USC because they had an economic problem and they had cut the scholarships. I choose to come to KU because it is a big school with a good athletic program and also has a good academic program. The other reason I wanted to come here is because the President of Columbia, Juan Manuel Santos, graduated from KU.

3. What do you think about the team?
I love my team; everybody helps me with everything that I need. I think I have a pretty good relationship with my teammates. It is very important for me to have a supportive team in order to be able to practice hard and compete well. I think we are going to have a successful season together.

4. What are your goals for the fall tournaments?
I want to do my best in each tournament in singles and doubles. I am trying to work on my game as much as I can while I am playing these matches during the fall. I am also trying to get a good ranking in singles at the end of the fall season.

5. What would you like to improve this semester?

I want to work hard in my movement on the court. It is really important to be fast and quick because that way I can reach every ball. I would like to be more confident and have more positive self-talk on the court.

6. What is your major?
My major is business administration. I decided to study it because when I finish my degree I am planning to go back to Colombia and I would like to work there for a multinational company.