Kansas Selected as Preseason Favorite in Big 12

Oct. 14, 2009

From Big12sports.com

IRVING, Texas – Kansas, the unanimous No. 1 team in the country in every preseason publication, is also the choice to win the conference title in a vote of the league’s head coaches. The Jayhawks received all 11 possible first-place votes in polling for the 2009-10 season. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams.

The Jayhawks bring back nearly all their scoring from a year ago, including all five starters. KU is led by senior Sherron Collins and junior Cole Aldrich, who were both All-Big 12 First Team selections last season. Kansas also welcomes one of the nation’s top recruiting classes as it looks to build on its 27-8 record and NCAA region semifinal appearance from a year ago.

Texas was selected second behind KU and received the other first-place vote. The Longhorns return four starters and have been touted as a top five team nationally by most college basketball experts. UT will have four of its top five scorers back on the court this season and also boasts a group of newcomers that was recognized as one of the best in the country.

Oklahoma, Kansas State and Texas A&M were next in the predictions at third, fourth and fifth. All three squads competed in the postseason a year ago. The fourth-place ranking in the preseason poll matches the highest ever for K-State (2007-08).

Two teams that won NCAA games last season – Oklahoma State and Missouri – are next at sixth and seventh. Iowa State was picked eighth and will welcome back one of the nation’s top players in junior forward Craig Brackins. Texas Tech, Baylor, Nebraska and Colorado rounded out the poll.

The Big 12 season gets underway on Friday, November 13 with seven schools in action. Conference play begins Saturday, January 9 with five league contests.

The Big 12 Conference will hold its preseason media day on Thursday, October 22 in Kansas City – site of the 2010 Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

Team (First place votes) Points

1. Kansas (11)* 121

2. Texas (1) 111

3. Oklahoma 95

4. Kansas State 92

5. Texas A&M 74

6. Oklahoma State 69

7. Missouri 66

8. Iowa State 57

9. Texas Tech 34

10. Baylor 33

11. Nebraska 27

12. Colorado 13