Morris, Selby and Taylor Named to Preseason All-Big 12 Accolades

Oct. 14, 2010

IRVING, Texas – Kansas juniors Marcus Morris and Tyshawn Taylor and freshman Josh Selby have been named to 2010-11 Preseason All-Big 12 men’s basketball teams as selected by the conference coaches and released by the league office Thursday.

Selby is the conference’s preseason freshman of the year, while Morris was named to the Preseason All-Big 12 team. Selby and Taylor were preseason honorable mention selections.

Marcus Morris

Morris has been listed on numerous preseason All-America teams entering the 2010-11 season. A 6-9 forward from Philadelphia, Morris is a two-year starter for the Jayhawks and earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors last season when he led the conference in field goal percentage for league games at 56.1 percent. Morris had five games of 20-plus points in 2009-10 and 14 contests with eight or more rebounds.

A 6-2 Baltimore, Md., guard, Selby was rated as the No. 1 recruit in the nation by He averaged 32 points, seven assists, five rebounds and two steals during his senior campaign to earn All-Metro Player of the Year honors from The Baltimore Sun. He also participated in the McDonald’s All-America Game, winning the slam dunk contest. He is the fourth Jayhawk to be named preseason Freshman of the Year.

Like Morris, Taylor is a two-year starter at KU. The Hoboken, N.J., guard averaged 7.2 points last season and 9.7 points in 2008-09, his freshman season at KU. Last year, Taylor ranked among the Big 12 leaders in assists – 10th at 3.4 per game – and assist-to-turnover ratio – 12th at 1.9. He shot 50 percent or better from the field in 16 games, including 10 conference contests.

Kansas kicks off the season hosting the 26th annual Late Night in the Phog on Friday, Oct. 15. Doors open at 7:30 p.m.

Tyshawn Taylor

Big 12 Conference Preseason All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Accolades

Preseason Player of the Year – Jacob Pullen, Kansas State, G

Preseason Newcomer of the Year – Ricardo Ratliffe, Missouri, F

Preseason Freshman of the Year Josh Selby, KANSAS, G

2010-11 Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Name, School, Pos.

LaceDarius Dunn, Baylor, G

Cory Higgins, Colorado, G

Marcus Morris, KANSAS, F

Curtis Kelly, Kansas State, F

Jacob Pullen, Kansas State, G

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school): Alec Burks, Colorado; Josh Selby & Tyshawn Taylor, KANSAS; Jamar Samuels, Kansas State; Kim English, Missouri;Jordan Hamilton, Gary Johnson & Cory Joseph, Texas; David Loubeau, Texas A&M; John Roberson & Mike Singletary, Texas Tech