Kansas Tops Preseason Big 12 Poll

Oct. 16, 2006


For the seventh time in the 11 year existence of the Big 12 Conference, the University of Kansas men’s basketball team has been anointed the league favorite to win the conference championship in a vote of the league’s coaches. The Jayhawks were a unanimous selection, receiving 11 first-place votes because coaches are not allowed to vote for their team.

KU returns all five of its starters and over 85 percent of its scoring from last season. The Jayhawks have shared the past two regular season championships (2005-Texas; 2006-Oklahoma) and captured the postseason league crown as well. In the 11 years of the Big 12 Conference, the Jayhawks have won or shared the regular season championship six times and won the postseason championship four times.

Last week, sophomores Brandon Rush and Julian Wright were named Co-Preseason Players of the Year, the first time in conference history that the award has been shared by two players. Rush averaged 13.5 points and 5.9 rebounds per game last season for the crimson and blue last season, while Wright contributed 8.5 points per game on 56.4 percent shooting from the floor.

Texas A&M received the other first-place vote and was picked to finish second. Oklahoma State followed the Aggies in third place, while Texas and Kansas State rounded out the top five.

The Jayhawks tip-off their 2006-07 schedule on Nov. 2 when they host Washburn in an exhibition contest. The game is slated to start at 7 p.m. from Allen Fieldhouse.

2006-07 Big 12 Preseason Poll
Team (First place votes) Points
1. Kansas (11)* 121
2. Texas A&M (1) 109
3. Oklahoma State 97
4. Texas 95
5. Kansas State 76
6. Texas Tech 68
7. Baylor 60
8. Missouri 44
9. Oklahoma 42
10. Nebraska 37
11. Iowa State 23
12. Colorado 20
Eleven points were awarded for first place, 10 for second, etc.
Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own team.
* – Unanimous selection

– KU –