Kansas Track and Field Announces 2009-10 Captains

Oct. 16, 2009


Head Coach Stanley Redwine and the Kansas track and field program have selected team captains for the 2009-10 seasons, it was announced Friday. The women’s team will be led by Lauren Bonds, Julia Cummings, Kelsey Erb, Amanda Miller and Shayla Wilson, while Ryan Hays, Eric Fattig, Jordan Scott, Iain Trimble and Keron Toussaint will captain the men’s squad.

Bonds and Miller were also selected as captains for the 2009 cross country season, along with Bret Imgrund and Dan Van Orsdel for the men’s cross country team.

Bonds, a senior from Hutchinson, Kan., will serve as the track team captain for the third consecutive year. She becomes only the fourth female in Kansas history to be honored as a three-time captain. The other three females on the prestigious list include Sha’Ray Butler (2007-09), Libby Harmon (2006-08) and Rebecca McGranahan (1981-83). Bonds set two school records in the mile (4:43.74) and 1,000 meters (2:26.60) during indoor season last year.

Senior Kelsey Erb will hold the honor for the second consecutive season. The Bucklin, Kan., native finished among the top 10 in all five events in which she competed during the 2009 outdoor season and was also named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team.

Miller, a junior, and sophomores Cummings and Wilson are all first-time captains for the women’s team. Miller brings a wealth of experience to the squad, having competed two years in both cross country and track and field. Miller was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team for both seasons and led her team in the 3,000 meter and 5,000 meter events during indoor season. Cummings is a stand-out pole vaulter for the Jayhawks, while Wilson, who was named the 2009 Newcomer of the Year by the KU track and field staff, will lead the squad as a strong competitor in the middle distance events.

For the men’s team, Scott, a native of Watkinsville, Ga., will serve as team captain for his third consecutive season. Scott is two-time NCAA Indoor All-American and three-time Big 12 Champion in the pole vault. He was named the 2009 Jayhawk of the Year, as selected by the coaching staff.

Hays and Fattig, both senior members of the team, will hold the honor for the second year in a row. Hays, who also competes in the pole vault, finished in the top 10 in all four events in which he competed during the 2009 outdoor season. Fattig, a native of Kearney, Neb., will compete in his last season as part of the horizontal jumps squad. Fattig posted four top five finishes in the long jump and triple jump in 2009.

Trimble returns to competition after utilizing his redshirt season in 2009-10. During the 2008 season, Trimble won two of three meets in which he competed and had an NCAA Regional and U.S. Olympic trials-qualifying javelin throw of 237-10 feet.

Toussaint is a Lawrence, Kan., native, who competes in the sprint events for KU. Toussaint finished among the top six in the 600 yards in three separate meets during the 2009 indoor season.

The 2009-10 track and field season will officially commence on Dec. 5, 2009 with the Bob Timmons Challenge in Lawrence, Kan. The Jayhawks will then have a one-month hiatus before their next indoor meet on Jan. 8, also at home in the Anschutz Sports Pavilion.