Rush, Wright Named to Wooden Watch List

Oct. 25, 2006


Sophomores Brandon Rush and Julian Wright can add yet another honor to their resume, as the guard and forward were named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 Candidates. The duo have already been named the Big 12 Preseason Co-Players of the Year and Rush was the first freshman in Big 12 history to be named to the league’s first team.

Wright and Rush join some vaunted talent in Kansas history to be named to the Top 50 list. The last pair of Jayhawks to don the list were Wayne Simien and Keith Langford prior to the 2004-05 season. Jayhawk legend Danny Manning is the only player in Kansas history to win the award, earning the honor in 1988 after guiding Kansas to the NCAA Championship. For more information on the award, please visit

Rush, Wright and the rest of the Kansas team open the season on Nov. 2 with an exhibition contest against Washburn in Allen Fieldhouse at 7 pm. Stay tuned to for all the action, results and stories during the 2006-07 season.