Seven KU Runners Named Academic All-Big 12

Oct. 26, 2004

DALLAS – The Big 12 Conference named 125 student-athletes to the 2004 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Academic All-Big 12 teams Tuesday (Oct. 26). The Jayhawks placed seven members on the list led by senior Megan Manthe who has a 4.0 grade point average.

Two members of the men’s team were selected to the first team. Senior D.J. Hilding and sophomore Tyler Kelly both made the list. Senior Monika Springer and sophomores Laura Major and Dena Seibel were named to the first team for the women. Sophomore Jessie Violand was named to the league second team.

“We have true student athletes,” head coach Stanley Redwine said. “When we recruit athletes, we don’t recruit them to only do well in cross country or track, we recruit them to do well in the classroom.”

To qualify, student-athletes must have a 3.0 GPA or higher either cumulative or in each of the two previous semesters and must haveparticipated in 60 percent of his/her teams scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academicresidence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are included.

The Jayhawks will travel to the 2004 Big 12 Mens and Women’s Cross Country Championship on Saturday at Stateland Cross Country Course in Topeka, Kan. The womens 6,000-meter run will begin at 10 a.m. CT followed by the mens 8,000-meter race at 11 a.m. The top mens and women’s teams will be crowned league champion, while the first 15 individuals in each race will be awarded Big 12 medallions.